Wed Mar. 16, 2011
Anna Pulley
Phone Number: 
(415) 321-1708

The Western Publishing Association (WPA) announced yesterday that Mother Jones has been nominated for seven Maggie Awards, bestowed annually upon deserving individuals and companies whose work is deemed "The Best in the West." For nearly 60 years, the nonprofit WPA has honored media based in the western United States that advances the publishing industry.

Mother Jones earned nominations in the following categories:

Best Politics & Social Issues Publication/Consumer
Mother Jones, November/December 2010 issue

Best Feature Article/Consumer*
November/December 2010 issue, "What Killed Aiyana Stanley-Jones?"
November/December 2010 issue, "Age of Treason"
(* Double nomination)

Best Web or Digital Edition Publication Blog/Trade & Consumer
Mother Jones, IN THE BLOGS

Best Cover/Consumer (Circ over 50,000)
November/December 2010 issue

Best Single Editorial Illustration/Consumer
March/April 2010 issue, "Cash on Delivery"

Best Series of Editorial Illustrations/Trade & Consumer
January/February 2010, "You, Only Better!"
(Previously won the 2011 Society of Illustrators award and two 2010 American Illustration awards)

These nominations come just two weeks after Mother Jones announced record-breaking online traffic, digital ad revenue, and social-media engagement. Recent high-profile appearances on Yahoo and The Colbert Report further positioned Mother Jones at the center of public discourse.

"These times demand great journalism that's unafraid to tell the truth," publisher Steven Katz said. "When we do that, our readers respond because they know they can count on Mother Jones to deliver fact-based reporting that helps them take meaningful action."

Recognition from its peers is nothing new for Mother Jones. In 2010, it received the National Magazine Award for General Excellence (the "Oscars" of the trade), as well as the Online News Association's (ONA) Online Topical Reporting award for team coverage of the BP oil spill. Mother Jones was the only magazine with a print edition to earn an ONA award.

"We make bold choices," CEO Madeleine Buckingham said, "and the public responds. Just look at the November/December cover that's been nominated—it's daring, irreverent, unexpected, and unlike anything else on newsstands. 'What Killed Aiyana Stanley-Jones?' from the same issue is compelling for entirely different reasons, but the common bond uniting them—which also characterizes our whole organization—is a passionate drive to shake up the status quo with solid reporting."

This same strategy netted four Maggie Awards for the publication in 2010, including Best Feature Article and Best Cover. The 2011 winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony in Los Angeles on April 29th.

Mother Jones, published by the Foundation for National Progress, is co-edited by Monika Bauerlein and Clara Jeffery.

For more information or to arrange an interview,
contact Anna Pulley at (415) 321-1708 or