Ben Dreyfuss

Ben Dreyfuss

Engagement Editor

Ben Dreyfuss is the engagement editor at Mother Jones.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Brand Fails

| Mon Jun. 16, 2014 8:52 PM EDT

The soccer team from the United States defeated the soccer team from Ghana in the World Cup 2-1 on Monday.

Delta Airlines tried to capitalize:

 

There are no giraffes in Ghana.

Take from this what you will about America's view of Africa.

WATCH: The US Just Scored the Fifth-Fastest Goal in World Cup History

| Mon Jun. 16, 2014 6:35 PM EDT

Update: FIFA officially says the goal was scored at 34 seconds, according to the Washington Post.

The US is playing Ghana today in the World Cup. Forward Clint Dempsey scored a goal just 30 seconds into the match. That makes it the fifth-fastest World Cup goal ever

Here's a Vine:

USA! USA!

(h/t NJ.com)

This Is the Back of the Ready for Hillary Super PAC Bus

| Tue Jun. 10, 2014 1:25 PM EDT

Hillary Clinton's book tour began today in New York City. The Ready For Hillary Super PAC is following her around. This is the back of that bus.

Texting while driving is bad and stupid and dangerous and, in a lot of places, illegal. Drivers are 23 times as likely to crash while texting than they are not texting. Don't text while you drive.

Correction: An earlier version of this post said it was actually Hillary Clinton's bus. It isn't. It's a super PAC's bus.

Tue Jul. 29, 2014 4:45 PM EDT
Tue Jul. 29, 2014 7:24 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 29, 2014 1:57 AM EDT
Mon Jul. 21, 2014 11:05 PM EDT
Tue Jul. 15, 2014 10:16 AM EDT
Sat Jul. 12, 2014 12:37 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 11, 2014 12:39 PM EDT
Tue Jul. 1, 2014 4:19 PM EDT
Sat Jun. 28, 2014 3:06 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 18, 2014 11:30 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 16, 2014 8:52 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 9, 2014 5:46 PM EDT
Tue May. 27, 2014 7:55 PM EDT
Sun May. 11, 2014 4:32 PM EDT
Fri May. 9, 2014 7:07 PM EDT
Fri May. 9, 2014 2:56 PM EDT