Chris Mooney

Chris Mooney

Correspondent

Chris Mooney is a science and political journalist, podcaster, and the host of Climate Desk Live. He is the author of four books, including the New York Times bestselling The Republican War on Science

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

"You'll Hear More": Obama Backs National Climate Debate

| Wed Nov. 14, 2012 2:17 PM PST

In his press conference today, President Obama not only broke the much discussed "silence" on climate change—he also showed he's been giving serious thought to how to move forward on the issue over the next four years.

In response to a question from New York Times White House correspondent Mark Landler, the president confirmed his belief that climate change is real and driven by humans, and implied that it has something to do with recent extreme weather. He went on to say that an "education process" is needed to get Americans on board with long term solutions to climate change—a "conversation across the country" that, he suggested, he would be leading.

At the same time, the President also mentioned that more "short term" solutions may be in the offing, perhaps referring to a variety of potential regulatory steps by the Environmental Protection Agency. Notably, President Obama also promised any long term climate solution would be bipartisan.

But, most of all, he promised a lot less climate silence. "You'll hear more from me in the coming months and years" on the issue, he said.

Mon Mar. 17, 2014 2:53 PM PDT
Tue Feb. 11, 2014 4:00 AM PST
Tue Feb. 4, 2014 12:02 PM PST
Mon Jan. 27, 2014 9:53 AM PST
Sat Jan. 18, 2014 4:00 AM PST
Fri Jan. 17, 2014 4:00 AM PST
Mon Jan. 6, 2014 10:29 AM PST
Wed Dec. 18, 2013 4:00 AM PST
Wed Dec. 11, 2013 4:00 AM PST
Wed Nov. 13, 2013 9:03 AM PST
Thu Sep. 26, 2013 6:34 AM PDT
Fri Sep. 20, 2013 7:36 AM PDT
Tue Aug. 27, 2013 3:00 AM PDT
Mon Jul. 15, 2013 3:00 AM PDT