Dave Gilson

Dave Gilson

Senior editor

Dave Gilson is a senior editor at Mother Jones' San Francisco (not Frisco) office. Reach him at dgilson@motherjones.com. Follow him on Twitter or read more of his stories.

Get my RSS |

Yesterday, a video posted by Anonymous announced that the hacktivist entity has declared "total war" on Donald Trump, the possibly computer-semiliterate Republican front runner. This is the shadowy cyberactivists' latest vow to annihilate a formidable enemy—an expanding list of foes that includes terrorist groups, multinational corporations, several countries, and an Australian bowhunter who was killing cats.

So far, the vast majority of Anonymous' targets have survived the much-hyped digital onslaught. As The Hill notes, the newest opening of hostilities with Trump follows a similar declaration last year that "never made much of an impact." 

Here are more than 40 targets that Anonymous members—and eager headline writers—have claimed it has "declared war on":

The Ku Klux Klan

ISIS

Syrian government websites

Terrorist websites

Egypt's Muslim Brotherhood

Jihad

The US government

The UK government

Police

Cincinnati police

Hong Kong police

Thai police

The Thai junta

Turkey

North Korea

Saudi Arabia

Singapore

Japan

Israel

The Cambodian government

Corruption and poverty in Nigeria

Orlando

Congress

Capitalism

Religion

Scientology

The Westboro Baptist Church

The family court of Australia

Wikileaks

Gov. Rick Snyder

Facebook

Sony

The Recording Industry Association of America

Marijuana prohibition

Pedophilia

A "rape town"

A "revenge porn" site founder

A "cat killer"

The Lizard Squad Hacker Team

Louis Vuitton

Kanye West

Wed May. 16, 2012 8:16 PM EDT
Wed May. 2, 2012 6:00 AM EDT
Tue May. 1, 2012 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Apr. 20, 2012 6:01 AM EDT
Thu Feb. 16, 2012 7:00 AM EST
Wed Feb. 8, 2012 7:00 AM EST
Fri Feb. 3, 2012 4:44 PM EST
Mon Jan. 23, 2012 8:48 PM EST
Mon Jan. 23, 2012 7:00 AM EST
Wed Jan. 11, 2012 1:59 PM EST
Tue Jan. 10, 2012 7:30 AM EST
Tue Dec. 27, 2011 7:00 AM EST
Tue Dec. 6, 2011 7:29 PM EST
Wed Nov. 23, 2011 7:00 AM EST
Tue Nov. 22, 2011 5:42 PM EST
Mon Oct. 31, 2011 2:54 PM EDT
Wed Oct. 26, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Oct. 24, 2011 4:04 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 18, 2011 2:35 PM EDT
Fri Oct. 14, 2011 6:02 AM EDT
Mon Oct. 10, 2011 6:39 PM EDT
Thu Oct. 6, 2011 6:14 PM EDT
Fri Sep. 23, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Sep. 2, 2011 6:30 AM EDT
Mon Jul. 18, 2011 2:54 PM EDT
Thu Jun. 2, 2011 4:45 PM EDT
Mon May. 30, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Thu May. 19, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Thu May. 12, 2011 5:31 PM EDT
Tue May. 3, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Apr. 29, 2011 4:36 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 22, 2011 8:30 AM EDT
Wed Apr. 13, 2011 4:19 PM EDT
Thu Mar. 31, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Thu Mar. 17, 2011 5:58 PM EDT
Mon Jan. 17, 2011 6:06 PM EST
Tue Dec. 14, 2010 3:20 PM EST
Thu Dec. 2, 2010 8:21 PM EST
Thu Dec. 2, 2010 2:02 PM EST
Fri Nov. 19, 2010 7:00 AM EST
Wed Nov. 3, 2010 12:08 AM EDT
Wed Oct. 27, 2010 7:29 PM EDT
Fri Aug. 27, 2010 2:00 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 26, 2010 7:15 AM EDT