Dave Gilson

Senior Editor

San Francisco native, word wrangler, data cruncher, chart drawer, pun maker. Recent areas of interest: campaign finance, income inequality, prison riots.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Dave Gilson has worked at Mother Jones since 2003. Previously, he worked for the San Francisco Bay Guardian, the Center for Investigative Reporting, and the Northern California bureau of the New York Times.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

We All Scream For Wayne LaPierre's Ice Cream

| Wed Apr. 17, 2013 3:30 AM PDT

From my cold, dead, sticky hands…

Among the revelations in last weekend's New York Times profile of National Rifle Association chief executive Wayne LaPierre was this delicious nugget: "His fantasy," according to a former colleague, "was to retire from the NRA and open an ice cream shop in Maine." Should LaPierre ever beat his swords into ice cream scoops, here are a few suggestions for flavors that will set him apart from Ben & Jerry's:

Second Amendmint

S'more Guns, Less Crime

Glocky Road

Concealed Carry Garcia

Mmmmmm-16

Stand Your Grounds (with real espresso beans!)

Jamoca Ammo Fudge

Freeze, M*****f*****!

Shall Not Be In-Fridged

Banana Clip Chip

License to Chill

Jackfruited Thugs (exotic sorbet flavor)

Wayne Swirled

What, no hand-packed pints of Gun Nut? The Star Spangled Ice Cream company beat him to it a decade ago—and even scored an endorsement from NRA board member Ted Nugent.

Tue Nov. 7, 2006 8:24 PM PST
Tue Nov. 7, 2006 7:54 PM PST
Mon Nov. 6, 2006 3:27 PM PST
Mon Nov. 6, 2006 9:10 AM PST
Fri Nov. 3, 2006 9:45 AM PST
Thu Nov. 2, 2006 3:34 PM PST
Wed Nov. 1, 2006 9:14 AM PST
Tue Oct. 31, 2006 2:55 PM PST
Fri Oct. 27, 2006 12:15 PM PDT
Thu Oct. 26, 2006 10:11 PM PDT
Wed Oct. 18, 2006 10:48 AM PDT
Tue Oct. 17, 2006 5:54 PM PDT
Wed Oct. 11, 2006 1:37 PM PDT
Wed Oct. 11, 2006 9:45 AM PDT
Tue Oct. 10, 2006 10:07 AM PDT
Fri Sep. 29, 2006 10:47 AM PDT
Thu Sep. 28, 2006 1:12 PM PDT
Thu Sep. 28, 2006 12:45 PM PDT
Thu Sep. 21, 2006 12:35 PM PDT
Thu Aug. 10, 2006 4:15 PM PDT
Fri Aug. 4, 2006 2:21 PM PDT
Thu Aug. 3, 2006 12:26 PM PDT
Fri Jul. 21, 2006 12:26 PM PDT
Mon Jul. 17, 2006 3:22 PM PDT
Thu Jul. 13, 2006 9:48 AM PDT