Josh Harkinson

Josh Harkinson

Reporter

Born in Texas and based in San Francisco, Josh covers tech, labor, drug policy, and the environment. PGP public key.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

In a Radical Shift, California Police Chiefs Push for Regulation of Medical Marijuana

| Thu Mar. 13, 2014 5:00 AM EDT

California was the first state to legalize medical marijuana, but like the pimply-faced stoner dude you may have known in high school, it hasn't had the healthiest of relationships with Mary Jane. The Golden State differs from most others with medical pot laws in that it doesn't actually regulate production and sale of the herb. Instead, it lets cities and counties enact their own laws—though in practice most haven't. The result has been the Wild West of weed: Almost any adult can score a scrip and some bud from a local dispensary, assuming, of course, that it hasn't yet been raided and shut down by the feds. 

But all of that might be about to change. The California Police Chiefs Association (CPCA) recently announced support for a bill that would put the state in the business of regulating the medical pot trade. Though you'd think cops would have pushed for such a thing decades ago, the reality is quite the opposite: The CPCA and other law enforcement organizations have, until now, opposed pretty much every reform to California's medical marijuana system for fear that anything short of completely abolishing it would legitimize it.

"With no regulations, you get your doors kicked in."

The CPCA's change of heart "is a huge for us," says Nate Bradley, executive director of the California Cannabis Industry Association, the state's marijuana industry trade group. Bradley agrees with his police adversaries that tighter regs would legitimize medical marijuana, which is why the CCIA has pushed for them since the group's inception four years ago. Bolstering his case, the US Department of Justice last year announced that it would no longer raid dispensaries in states that it believes are regulating them adequately—a formulation that seemed to exclude California. New rules issued last month by the Obama administration allow banks to accept funds from pot dealers, but only if they're licensed in the state where they operate.

So why are California's drug warriors reversing course? "We could no longer ignore that the political landscape on this issue was shifting," the CPCA explained in a letter written jointly with the League of California Cities. Polls and changing federal policies suggest that medical pot reform "could be enacted," and that "without our proactive intervention, it could take a form that was severely damaging to our interests."

The bill that law enforcement groups are backing, SB 1262, is flawed, but it's something that "we can work with," says Bradley, who previously worked as a cop in California's Yuba County. Advocates of medical pot don't like how the bill constrains the ability of doctors to recommend marijuana, outlaws potent pot concentrates such as hash oil, and puts regulation in the hands of the Department of Public Health, rather than the Department of Alcoholic Beverages Control.

Tue Mar. 27, 2007 9:15 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 27, 2007 12:12 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 26, 2007 11:20 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 6, 2007 1:15 PM EST
Tue Feb. 6, 2007 8:01 PM EST
Thu Jan. 25, 2007 5:10 PM EST
Thu Jan. 25, 2007 1:55 PM EST
Fri Jan. 19, 2007 7:11 PM EST
Fri Jan. 19, 2007 4:12 PM EST
Tue Jan. 16, 2007 10:26 PM EST
Tue Jan. 9, 2007 8:49 PM EST
Fri Dec. 15, 2006 5:05 PM EST
Wed Dec. 13, 2006 7:22 PM EST
Tue Dec. 12, 2006 8:51 PM EST
Mon Nov. 27, 2006 3:10 PM EST
Fri Nov. 17, 2006 3:33 PM EST
Thu Nov. 9, 2006 8:20 PM EST
Thu Nov. 9, 2006 3:46 PM EST
Thu Nov. 9, 2006 1:29 PM EST
Wed Nov. 8, 2006 3:05 AM EST
Tue Nov. 7, 2006 10:25 PM EST
Tue Nov. 7, 2006 4:19 PM EST
Tue Nov. 7, 2006 1:29 PM EST
Mon Nov. 6, 2006 7:50 PM EST
Wed Nov. 1, 2006 12:29 PM EST
Fri Oct. 20, 2006 9:28 PM EDT