Josh Harkinson

Josh Harkinson

Reporter

Born in Texas and based in San Francisco, Josh covers tech, labor, drug policy, and the environment.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Latin American Nations Debate Legalizing Pot

| Mon Jun. 10, 2013 12:45 PM PDT

At last week's annual summit of the Organization of American States, Latin American leaders distanced themselves from the United States' drug policies and agreed to consider the widespread legalization of marijuana.

The OAS summit "was really a tipping point for this movement" to end the war on drugs, said Pedro Abramovay, a campaign director for Avaaz, a global nonprofit group that has petitioned the OAS to liberalize its drug policies.

The move comes as Uruguay debates a bill to legalize the production and sale of pot (it is already legal there for personal use) and as Chile considers decriminalizing it. Latin American leaders also have kept a close eye on how Colorado and Washington, having legalized marijuana, will go about regulating its consumption.

Wed Jan. 22, 2014 5:38 PM PST
Thu Oct. 3, 2013 9:30 AM PDT
Mon Aug. 19, 2013 9:47 AM PDT
Thu Jun. 27, 2013 3:00 AM PDT
Mon Jun. 10, 2013 12:45 PM PDT
Tue May. 21, 2013 6:56 AM PDT
Mon May. 20, 2013 8:38 AM PDT
Mon May. 6, 2013 3:00 AM PDT
Sat Apr. 20, 2013 3:00 AM PDT
Mon Apr. 8, 2013 2:00 AM PDT
Mon Mar. 4, 2013 7:56 AM PST
Fri Mar. 1, 2013 4:06 AM PST
Thu Feb. 28, 2013 4:31 AM PST
Tue Feb. 19, 2013 3:41 PM PST
Tue Feb. 19, 2013 4:02 AM PST
Mon Feb. 11, 2013 4:36 AM PST
Mon Jan. 28, 2013 4:01 AM PST
Mon Jan. 28, 2013 3:56 AM PST
Tue Jan. 22, 2013 10:22 AM PST