Josh Harkinson

Josh Harkinson

Reporter

Born in Texas and based in San Francisco, Josh covers tech, labor, drug policy, and the environment. PGP public key.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Government to Furlough Food Inspectors but Not Military Recruiters

| Mon Sep. 30, 2013 8:03 PM EDT

Now that Uncle Sam is about to run out of money, federal agencies will need to use their last pennies simply to keep America from falling apart. Food inspectors and pesticide regulators will stay home under the furlough plan, but fear not: Military recruiters will show up to work no matter what. Sure, your kids might die from eating tainted spinach, but they will have died in order to show that America does not give in to terrorists. Or whatever it is you call those ideologues and hostage-takers that the military fights. The point is, just remember that the military will be there for you during the budget apocalypse if you need a job, or want to watch some inspiring videos about jumping out of helicopters and hunting people with spear guns.

UPDATE: Below, readers point out a variety of reasons why furloughing military personnel is not as easy as furloughing civilian workers, which may help explain why Army recruiters are still working while food inspectors are not.

Fri Nov. 7, 2014 5:12 PM EST
Wed Jan. 22, 2014 7:38 PM EST
Thu Oct. 3, 2013 11:30 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 19, 2013 11:47 AM EDT
Thu Jun. 27, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 10, 2013 2:45 PM EDT
Tue May. 21, 2013 8:56 AM EDT
Mon May. 20, 2013 10:38 AM EDT
Mon May. 6, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Sat Apr. 20, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Apr. 8, 2013 4:00 AM EDT
Mon Mar. 4, 2013 9:56 AM EST
Fri Mar. 1, 2013 6:06 AM EST