Josh Harkinson

Josh Harkinson

Reporter

Born in Texas and based in San Francisco, Josh covers tech, labor, drug policy, and the environment.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Will American Pot Farmers Put the Cartels out of Business?

| Wed May 7, 2014 2:56 PM EDT

For the first time ever, many of the farmers who supply Mexican drug cartels have stopped planting marijuana, reports the Washington Post. "It's not worth it anymore," said Rodrigo Silla, a lifelong cannabis farmer from central Mexico. "I wish the Americans would stop with this legalization."

Facing stiff competition from pot grown legally and illegally north of the border, the price for a kilogram of Mexican schwag has plummeted by 75 percent, from $100 to $25, the Post reports:

Farmers in the storied "Golden Triangle" region of Mexico's Sinaloa state, which has produced the country's most notorious gangsters and biggest marijuana harvests, say they are no longer planting the crop…increasingly, they're unable to compete with US marijuana growers. With cannabis legalized or allowed for medical use in 20 US states and the District of Columbia, more and more of the American market is supplied with highly potent marijuana grown in American garages and converted warehouses—some licensed, others not.

As notes David Downs of the East Bay Express, this is a really big deal. In the past decade, Mexican drug cartels have murdered an estimated 60,000 people. The DEA annually spends more than $2 billion to deter the transport of illicit drugs across the border. "So now we have both the DEA and cartel farmers screaming bloody murder about legalization," Downs points out. "Sounds like we're on the right track."

Of course, the American pot boom is also creating problems of its own, with some Mexican traffickers moving north to California and other states to set up vast "trespass grows" on remote public lands. To be sure, the illicit market for weed will prop up criminal syndicates for as long as pot remains illegal, yet this week's news is some of strongest evidence to date that legalizing and decriminalizing pot will ultimately make everyone safer.

Quick Reads: "The Noble Hustle" by Colson Whitehead

| Fri May 2, 2014 6:00 AM EDT
The Noble Hustle

The Noble Hustle

By Colson Whitehead

DOUBLEDAY

Like rednecks at a demolition derby, novelists keep showing up at the World Series of Poker. To be sure, other writers (notably James McManus) have won far more prize money playing high-stakes hold 'em, but none can match the self-deprecating charm of Colson Whitehead, a recently divorced New Yorker who figures that being "half dead inside" gives him the perfect poker face. With just six weeks to train, he juggles bus trips to Atlantic City with picking up his daughter from school. He finds something oddly reassuring about sharing tables with a hoodied "Robotron" and a grizzled "Methy Mike." The Noble Hustle, part love letter, part dark confessional, captures perfectly the mix of neurosis and narrative that makes gambling so appealing.

This review originally appeared in our May/June 2014 issue of Mother Jones.

Wiretapping Advocate Condoleezza Rice Joins Dropbox

| Thu Apr. 10, 2014 6:27 PM EDT

The internet is not pleased that Condoleezza Rice will be joining the board of the filesharing service Dropbox. A lot of the concern has to do with the fact that she'll be helping Dropbox navigate "international expansion and privacy" issues. As Ars Technica notes, the former National Security Advisor and Secretary of State isn't exactly the kind of person you'd trust to defend your data from Uncle Sam: In 2003, she authorized NSA wiretaps of members of the United Nations Security Council at the behest of George W. Bush, and later defended them. Of course, to be fair, maybe having an insider like Rice onboard will allow Dropbox to push back against would-be government intrusions. Still, the news is likely to give a boost to Dropbox competitors that now market their cloud services, convincingly or not, as "NSA-proof."

Tue Jun. 28, 2011 11:04 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 20, 2011 4:42 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 20, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Fri May. 27, 2011 12:42 PM EDT
Thu May. 19, 2011 2:39 PM EDT
Wed May. 18, 2011 8:30 PM EDT
Wed May. 18, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Tue May. 17, 2011 4:58 PM EDT
Mon May. 16, 2011 3:30 PM EDT
Thu May. 12, 2011 7:02 PM EDT
Thu May. 12, 2011 2:31 PM EDT
Wed May. 11, 2011 7:08 AM EDT
Wed Apr. 27, 2011 6:09 AM EDT
Wed Apr. 20, 2011 7:20 AM EDT
Mon Apr. 18, 2011 6:06 AM EDT
Mon Apr. 11, 2011 2:36 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 8, 2011 6:14 AM EDT
Tue Apr. 5, 2011 6:00 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 4, 2011 6:17 AM EDT
Thu Mar. 31, 2011 6:35 AM EDT
Fri Mar. 25, 2011 1:10 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 22, 2011 8:57 PM EDT
Sat Mar. 19, 2011 6:03 AM EDT
Tue Mar. 15, 2011 6:46 AM EDT
Fri Mar. 4, 2011 3:09 PM EST
Tue Mar. 1, 2011 7:00 AM EST
Fri Feb. 11, 2011 10:01 PM EST
Thu Feb. 10, 2011 8:31 AM EST
Wed Feb. 9, 2011 2:17 PM EST
Mon Feb. 7, 2011 4:09 PM EST
Fri Feb. 4, 2011 9:12 AM EST
Thu Feb. 3, 2011 5:43 PM EST
Thu Feb. 3, 2011 4:23 PM EST
Thu Feb. 3, 2011 8:03 AM EST
Wed Feb. 2, 2011 3:56 PM EST
Mon Jan. 24, 2011 8:20 AM EST
Wed Jan. 12, 2011 7:43 AM EST