Josh Harkinson

Josh Harkinson

Reporter

Born in Texas and based in San Francisco, Josh covers tech, labor, drug policy, and the environment. PGP public key.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Occupy Wall Street Drummers Driving Neighbors Batty

| Fri Oct. 21, 2011 11:40 AM EDT

"I was 100 feet from where 4,000 people were killed. Okay? That's what's missing here. You are a half a block from Ground Zero. You are not occupying Wall Street—you are occupying Zuccotti Park in my backyard. And you are drumming at all kinds of crazy hours. When is it going to end?"

So said an emotional neighbor of Occupy Wall Street at a contentious, two-hour meeting last night of the Quality of Life Committee of the Manhattan Community Board 1, the city body that deals with neighborhood issues near Wall Street. Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer had kicked things off with the admission that "tensions have been growing between protesters and residents." And as the meeting dragged on, that seemed like an understatement.

"I am an occupier, I am a drummer, and, despite what they say, I am also a human being," said Ashley Love, a young member of the OWS People of Color Working Group, who'd tried to organize a protest march against the meeting. "It's primarily a commercial area; not too many people live there," she went on, to an uproar of boos and hollers. "The majority of the drummers are people of color with low-income or no-income backgrounds, and Wall Street was built by slaves when they brought the Africans over here. The council people back then prohibited drumming because it was a way of protesting. It was a way of communication. And I just think you guys are scapegoating us."

Tue Dec. 16, 2014 6:00 AM EST
Fri Nov. 7, 2014 5:12 PM EST
Wed Jan. 22, 2014 7:38 PM EST
Thu Oct. 3, 2013 11:30 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 19, 2013 11:47 AM EDT
Thu Jun. 27, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 10, 2013 2:45 PM EDT
Tue May. 21, 2013 8:56 AM EDT
Mon May. 20, 2013 10:38 AM EDT
Mon May. 6, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Sat Apr. 20, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Apr. 8, 2013 4:00 AM EDT