Julia Whitty

Julia Whitty

Environmental Correspondent

Julia is an award-winning author of fiction and nonfiction (Deep Blue Home, The Fragile Edge, A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga), and a former documentary filmmaker. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Julia is a writer and former documentary filmmaker and the author of The Fragile Edge: Diving & Other Adventures in the South Pacific, winner of a PEN USA Literary Award, the John Burroughs Medal, the Kiriyama Prize, the Northern California Books Awards, and finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and Deep Blue Home: An Intimate Ecology of Our Wild Ocean. Her short story collection A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga won an O. Henry and was a finalist for the PEN Hemingway Award. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Thu Oct. 11, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Wed Oct. 10, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Tue Oct. 9, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Oct. 8, 2012 5:51 PM EDT
Wed Sep. 26, 2012 12:43 PM EDT
Fri Sep. 21, 2012 5:07 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 17, 2012 5:15 PM EDT
Thu Sep. 13, 2012 4:37 PM EDT
Thu Sep. 6, 2012 6:10 PM EDT
Thu Aug. 30, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 27, 2012 3:56 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 21, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 20, 2012 3:09 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 14, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Jul. 27, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 24, 2012 12:39 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 11, 2012 2:50 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 9, 2012 2:53 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 6, 2012 1:29 PM EDT
Thu Jun. 14, 2012 1:21 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 13, 2012 2:42 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 11, 2012 4:23 PM EDT
Fri Jun. 1, 2012 2:51 PM EDT
Wed May. 30, 2012 3:04 PM EDT
Fri May. 25, 2012 2:00 PM EDT
Fri May. 18, 2012 12:36 PM EDT
Thu May. 17, 2012 4:05 PM EDT
Thu May. 17, 2012 1:53 PM EDT
Mon May. 14, 2012 1:23 PM EDT
Wed May. 9, 2012 3:19 PM EDT
Tue May. 8, 2012 4:40 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 30, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Apr. 27, 2012 3:45 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 20, 2012 5:00 AM EDT