Julia Whitty

Julia Whitty

Environmental Correspondent

Julia is an award-winning author of fiction and nonfiction (Deep Blue Home, The Fragile Edge, A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga), and a former documentary filmmaker. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Julia is a writer and former documentary filmmaker and the author of The Fragile Edge: Diving & Other Adventures in the South Pacific, winner of a PEN USA Literary Award, the John Burroughs Medal, the Kiriyama Prize, the Northern California Books Awards, and finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and Deep Blue Home: An Intimate Ecology of Our Wild Ocean. Her short story collection A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga won an O. Henry and was a finalist for the PEN Hemingway Award. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Tue Apr. 17, 2012 1:37 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 17, 2012 5:04 AM EDT
Thu Apr. 12, 2012 3:20 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 10, 2012 2:25 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 6, 2012 3:37 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 4, 2012 4:27 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 2, 2012 4:58 PM EDT
Thu Mar. 29, 2012 3:07 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 26, 2012 4:48 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 26, 2012 2:51 PM EDT
Fri Mar. 23, 2012 2:12 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 21, 2012 1:03 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 20, 2012 1:34 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 19, 2012 1:18 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 14, 2012 1:29 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 13, 2012 12:44 PM EDT
Fri Mar. 9, 2012 4:35 PM EST
Thu Mar. 8, 2012 3:20 PM EST
Tue Mar. 6, 2012 5:29 PM EST
Mon Mar. 5, 2012 4:52 PM EST
Fri Mar. 2, 2012 3:20 PM EST
Tue Feb. 28, 2012 5:46 PM EST
Fri Feb. 24, 2012 3:06 PM EST
Thu Feb. 23, 2012 3:17 PM EST
Wed Feb. 22, 2012 5:37 PM EST
Fri Feb. 17, 2012 3:07 PM EST
Wed Feb. 15, 2012 4:52 PM EST
Mon Feb. 13, 2012 3:00 PM EST
Fri Feb. 10, 2012 3:41 PM EST
Thu Feb. 9, 2012 1:36 PM EST
Mon Feb. 6, 2012 3:29 PM EST
Mon Jan. 30, 2012 3:58 PM EST
Fri Jan. 27, 2012 5:07 PM EST
Thu Jan. 26, 2012 5:53 PM EST
Tue Jan. 24, 2012 4:20 PM EST
Fri Jan. 20, 2012 1:50 PM EST
Wed Jan. 18, 2012 3:26 PM EST
Tue Jan. 17, 2012 3:48 PM EST
Fri Jan. 13, 2012 3:48 PM EST
Thu Jan. 12, 2012 5:23 PM EST
Tue Jan. 10, 2012 3:31 PM EST
Mon Jan. 9, 2012 3:19 PM EST
Fri Jan. 6, 2012 6:04 AM EST
Thu Jan. 5, 2012 2:13 PM EST