Julia Whitty

Julia Whitty

Environmental Correspondent

Julia is an award-winning author of fiction and nonfiction (Deep Blue Home, The Fragile Edge, A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga), and a former documentary filmmaker. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Julia is a writer and former documentary filmmaker and the author of The Fragile Edge: Diving & Other Adventures in the South Pacific, winner of a PEN USA Literary Award, the John Burroughs Medal, the Kiriyama Prize, the Northern California Books Awards, and finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and Deep Blue Home: An Intimate Ecology of Our Wild Ocean. Her short story collection A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga won an O. Henry and was a finalist for the PEN Hemingway Award. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Tue Jan. 3, 2012 3:49 PM EST
Wed Dec. 28, 2011 3:59 PM EST
Thu Dec. 22, 2011 2:20 PM EST
Tue Dec. 20, 2011 4:20 PM EST
Mon Dec. 19, 2011 5:23 PM EST
Fri Dec. 16, 2011 1:09 PM EST
Wed Dec. 14, 2011 7:03 PM EST
Wed Dec. 14, 2011 3:26 PM EST
Fri Dec. 9, 2011 3:52 PM EST
Fri Dec. 9, 2011 2:54 PM EST
Thu Dec. 8, 2011 4:35 PM EST
Tue Dec. 6, 2011 5:09 PM EST
Mon Dec. 5, 2011 4:05 PM EST
Fri Dec. 2, 2011 2:51 PM EST
Fri Dec. 2, 2011 6:01 AM EST
Tue Nov. 29, 2011 5:52 PM EST
Mon Nov. 28, 2011 4:33 PM EST
Mon Nov. 28, 2011 4:04 PM EST
Tue Nov. 22, 2011 6:00 AM EST
Mon Nov. 21, 2011 5:01 PM EST
Fri Nov. 18, 2011 4:52 PM EST
Thu Nov. 17, 2011 2:13 PM EST
Tue Nov. 15, 2011 4:56 PM EST
Fri Nov. 11, 2011 5:02 PM EST
Wed Nov. 9, 2011 4:21 PM EST
Tue Nov. 8, 2011 6:00 AM EST
Fri Nov. 4, 2011 1:21 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 31, 2011 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 28, 2011 12:17 PM EDT
Wed Oct. 26, 2011 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 21, 2011 5:00 AM EDT
Thu Oct. 20, 2011 4:42 PM EDT
Wed Oct. 19, 2011 4:27 PM EDT
Fri Oct. 14, 2011 5:00 AM EDT
Wed Oct. 12, 2011 7:20 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 10, 2011 6:37 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 10, 2011 5:16 PM EDT
Fri Oct. 7, 2011 4:59 PM EDT
Fri Oct. 7, 2011 5:30 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 7, 2011 5:00 AM EDT
Thu Oct. 6, 2011 5:12 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 4, 2011 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 26, 2011 4:33 PM EDT
Fri Sep. 23, 2011 1:12 PM EDT
Thu Sep. 22, 2011 12:34 PM EDT