Julia Whitty

Julia Whitty

Environmental Correspondent

Julia is an award-winning author of fiction and nonfiction (Deep Blue Home, The Fragile Edge, A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga), and a former documentary filmmaker. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Julia is a writer and former documentary filmmaker and the author of The Fragile Edge: Diving & Other Adventures in the South Pacific, winner of a PEN USA Literary Award, the John Burroughs Medal, the Kiriyama Prize, the Northern California Books Awards, and finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and Deep Blue Home: An Intimate Ecology of Our Wild Ocean. Her short story collection A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga won an O. Henry and was a finalist for the PEN Hemingway Award. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Mon Oct. 4, 2010 6:24 PM EDT
Thu Sep. 30, 2010 11:04 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 28, 2010 6:24 PM EDT
Wed Sep. 1, 2010 4:07 PM EDT
Mon Aug. 30, 2010 4:45 PM EDT
Fri Aug. 27, 2010 5:35 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 25, 2010 1:37 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 24, 2010 5:40 PM EDT
Thu Aug. 19, 2010 5:43 PM EDT
Thu Aug. 19, 2010 2:15 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 17, 2010 1:34 PM EDT
Mon Aug. 16, 2010 6:25 PM EDT
Mon Aug. 16, 2010 5:32 PM EDT
Fri Aug. 13, 2010 3:27 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 11, 2010 2:59 PM EDT
Mon Aug. 9, 2010 2:02 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 4, 2010 1:05 PM EDT
Tue Jul. 13, 2010 5:40 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 12, 2010 2:33 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 7, 2010 12:06 PM EDT
Tue Jul. 6, 2010 1:37 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 29, 2010 12:52 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 28, 2010 9:09 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 23, 2010 5:59 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 21, 2010 9:27 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 21, 2010 7:29 PM EDT
Sat Jun. 19, 2010 11:34 AM EDT
Wed Jun. 16, 2010 4:26 PM EDT
Fri Jun. 11, 2010 5:46 PM EDT
Thu Jun. 10, 2010 12:12 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 7, 2010 9:28 PM EDT
Sun Jun. 6, 2010 9:56 AM EDT
Fri Jun. 4, 2010 1:54 AM EDT
Thu Jun. 3, 2010 10:19 AM EDT
Wed Jun. 2, 2010 9:29 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 2, 2010 1:59 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 2, 2010 12:52 AM EDT
Mon May. 31, 2010 8:57 PM EDT
Sun May. 30, 2010 11:23 AM EDT