Julia Whitty

Julia Whitty

Environmental Correspondent

Julia is an award-winning author of fiction and nonfiction (Deep Blue Home, The Fragile Edge, A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga), and a former documentary filmmaker. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Julia is a writer and former documentary filmmaker and the author of The Fragile Edge: Diving & Other Adventures in the South Pacific, winner of a PEN USA Literary Award, the John Burroughs Medal, the Kiriyama Prize, the Northern California Books Awards, and finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and Deep Blue Home: An Intimate Ecology of Our Wild Ocean. Her short story collection A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga won an O. Henry and was a finalist for the PEN Hemingway Award. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Thu Jan. 21, 2010 10:07 PM EST
Wed Jan. 20, 2010 9:21 PM EST
Tue Jan. 19, 2010 9:27 PM EST
Fri Jan. 15, 2010 10:00 PM EST
Wed Jan. 13, 2010 10:15 PM EST
Wed Jan. 13, 2010 9:57 PM EST
Tue Jan. 12, 2010 10:05 PM EST
Mon Jan. 11, 2010 9:57 PM EST
Mon Jan. 11, 2010 8:40 PM EST
Thu Jan. 7, 2010 10:09 PM EST
Wed Jan. 6, 2010 11:57 PM EST
Wed Jan. 6, 2010 11:19 PM EST
Tue Jan. 5, 2010 11:32 PM EST
Mon Jan. 4, 2010 11:53 PM EST
Wed Dec. 23, 2009 9:35 PM EST
Mon Dec. 21, 2009 9:00 PM EST
Fri Dec. 18, 2009 8:59 PM EST
Thu Dec. 17, 2009 10:02 PM EST
Wed Dec. 16, 2009 9:09 PM EST
Mon Dec. 14, 2009 9:36 PM EST
Sat Dec. 12, 2009 6:26 PM EST
Wed Dec. 9, 2009 8:17 PM EST
Wed Dec. 9, 2009 2:37 AM EST
Tue Dec. 8, 2009 9:18 PM EST
Mon Dec. 7, 2009 11:01 PM EST
Fri Dec. 4, 2009 10:20 PM EST
Thu Dec. 3, 2009 9:33 PM EST
Tue Dec. 1, 2009 8:17 PM EST
Mon Nov. 30, 2009 8:19 PM EST
Tue Nov. 24, 2009 9:11 PM EST
Mon Nov. 23, 2009 8:05 PM EST
Fri Nov. 20, 2009 10:31 PM EST
Wed Nov. 18, 2009 10:06 PM EST
Tue Nov. 17, 2009 9:45 PM EST
Tue Nov. 17, 2009 8:39 PM EST
Mon Nov. 16, 2009 11:16 PM EST
Fri Nov. 13, 2009 9:31 PM EST
Fri Nov. 13, 2009 8:47 PM EST
Thu Nov. 12, 2009 11:10 PM EST
Thu Nov. 12, 2009 10:32 PM EST
Wed Nov. 11, 2009 9:58 PM EST
Tue Nov. 10, 2009 9:44 PM EST
Fri Nov. 6, 2009 9:34 PM EST
Thu Nov. 5, 2009 7:07 PM EST
Thu Nov. 5, 2009 6:13 PM EST
Wed Nov. 4, 2009 7:02 PM EST
Mon Nov. 2, 2009 9:36 PM EST
Mon Nov. 2, 2009 8:29 PM EST
Fri Oct. 30, 2009 7:19 PM EDT
Thu Oct. 29, 2009 6:30 PM EDT