Kiera Butler

Kiera Butler

Senior Editor

A senior editor at Mother Jones, Kiera covers health, food, and the environment. She is the author of the new book Raise: What 4-H Teaches 7 Million Kids—and How Its Lessons Could Change Food and Farming Forever (University of California Press).

 

Get my RSS |

Study Finds Kids Prefer Healthier Lunches. School Food Lobby Refuses to Believe It.

| Tue Jul. 22, 2014 2:29 PM EDT

From all of the commotion around the new federal school lunch standards, you'd think they were really Draconian. Republican legislators have railed against them. Districts have threatened to opt out. The School Nutrition Association (SNA), the industry group that represents the nation's 55,000 school food employees, has officially opposed some of them—and doubled its lobbying in the months leading up to July 1, when some of the new rules took effect.

Half of those surveyed said that the students "complained about the meals at first," but 70 percent said that the students now like the new lunches.

Here's who doesn't mind the new standards: kids. For a study just published in the peer-reviewed journal Childhood Obesity, researchers asked administrators and food service staff at 537 public elementary schools how their students were liking the meals that conformed to the new standards. Half of those surveyed said that the students "complained about the meals at first," but 70 percent said that the students now like the new lunches. Rural districts were the least enthusiastic about the new meals—there, some respondents reported that purchasing was down and that students were eating less of their meals. But respondents from schools with a high percentage of poor students—those with at least two-thirds eligible for free or reduced-price meals—were especially positive about the new standards: They found that "more students were buying lunch and that students were eating more of the meal than in the previous year."

"Kids who really need good nutrition most at school are getting it," says Lindsey Turner, the Childhood Obesity study's lead author and a research scientist at the University of Illinois-Chicago. "That's really good news."

SNA's response? To issue a statement declaring that "these reported perceptions about school meals do not reflect reality." The group cites USDA data that participation in school meals has declined by 1.4 million since the new rules went into effect in 2012. But Turner, the Childhood Obesity study's lead author, notes that this is only about a 3 percent drop. She also points to a Government Accountability Office study that found that most of the drop-off was among students who pay full price for lunch.

What makes SNA's stance on the new rules even stranger is that they actually are not all that strict. For example: Foods served must be whole grain rich, but as I learned from my trip to SNA's annual conference last week, that includes whole-grain Pop Tarts, Cheetos, and Rice Krispies Treats. Students are required to take a half cup of a fruit or vegetable—but Italian ice—in flavors like Hip Hoppin' Jelly Bean—are fair game.

Not all members of SNA consider the task of tempting kids with healthy foods onerous. As I reported last week, Jessica Shelly, food director of Cincinnati's diverse public schools, has shown that all it takes is a little creativity.

HT The Lunch Tray.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Chick-Fil-A's Twee New Food Journalism Site

| Thu Jun. 26, 2014 5:42 PM EDT

Perhaps hoping to distance itself from its horrendous display of homophobia in 2012, the fast-food chicken chain Chick-Fil-A has launched a folksy new food journalism site called Let's Gather:

Image from Let's Gather

Yes really. Check out the actual site, which is now hosting the project's second issue. Push past the animated bees buzzing around scenically, and don't get so distracted by this homey idyll that you forget to click on the shabby chic nav tool in the upper right.

Once you do, you might venture over to the about page, which says this: "By exploring the winsome themes found in the everyday blend of our meals, hobbies, and relationships, each issue inspires readers to try a new recipe, think a new thought, and join a new conversation. Ultimately, these are stories that remind us of the joy we experience when we make time to do life together." (Emphasis added.)

But wait, it gets better. Nestled among the features about stair climbing and giving up groceries is a Q&A with Chick-Fil-A on-staff registered dietitian (don't even get me started) Jodie Worrell:

Image from Let's Gather
Thu Dec. 17, 2009 9:09 PM EST
Thu Dec. 17, 2009 1:55 AM EST
Mon Dec. 14, 2009 8:49 PM EST
Mon Dec. 14, 2009 3:58 PM EST
Thu Dec. 3, 2009 7:07 PM EST
Mon Nov. 23, 2009 5:59 AM EST
Mon Nov. 16, 2009 5:55 AM EST
Tue Nov. 10, 2009 6:02 PM EST
Tue Nov. 10, 2009 3:12 PM EST
Mon Nov. 9, 2009 5:30 AM EST
Mon Nov. 2, 2009 5:00 AM EST
Tue Oct. 27, 2009 7:24 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 27, 2009 2:44 PM EDT
Sun Oct. 25, 2009 7:00 PM EDT
Fri Oct. 23, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Oct. 19, 2009 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 16, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Oct. 13, 2009 12:26 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 12, 2009 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 9, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Oct. 6, 2009 6:00 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 5, 2009 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 2, 2009 12:14 PM EDT
Tue Sep. 29, 2009 1:55 PM EDT
Tue Sep. 29, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 28, 2009 5:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 22, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 21, 2009 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Sep. 18, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 15, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 15, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 14, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 14, 2009 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Sep. 11, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Wed Sep. 9, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 8, 2009 3:34 PM EDT
Fri Sep. 4, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Thu Sep. 3, 2009 1:01 PM EDT
Tue Sep. 1, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 1, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 31, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Aug. 28, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Wed Aug. 26, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 25, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 25, 2009 5:00 AM EDT
Thu Aug. 20, 2009 11:00 AM EDT
Wed Aug. 19, 2009 2:55 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 19, 2009 2:00 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 19, 2009 12:30 PM EDT