Kiera Butler

Kiera Butler

Senior Editor

Kiera answers your green questions every week in her Econundrums column. She was a hypochondriac even before she started researching germ warfare.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Kiera has written about the environment, arts and culture, and more for Columbia Journalism Review, Orion, Audubon, OnEarth, Plenty, and the Utne Reader. She lives in Berkeley and recently planted 30 onions in her backyard.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Quick Reads: "Junkyard Planet" by Adam Minter

| Mon Nov. 11, 2013 7:00 AM EST
Junkyard Planet

Junkyard Planet

By Adam Minter

BLOOMSBURY PRESS

In this satisfying investigation-cum-travelogue, journalist Adam Minter treks around the globe to discover what actually happens to our garbage. From the posh Los Angeles offices of a trash czar who made his fortune selling American scraps overseas to a Chinese village whose sole industry is extracting wire from Christmas lights, Minter, raised amid his own family's junkyard business, reveals a $500 billion economy built on wringing every last cent—or yuan—from the rich world's refuse. It's a story you don't see in the grim e-waste stats. "If—like me—you have a television that you'd like to see recycled in the most environmentally sound manner possible, with the most material harvested from its guts," he writes, "Hunan Province might very well be the place for it to go."

This review originally appeared in our November/December 2013 issue of Mother Jones.

Tue Nov. 10, 2009 4:12 PM EST
Mon Nov. 9, 2009 6:30 AM EST
Mon Nov. 2, 2009 6:00 AM EST
Tue Oct. 27, 2009 8:24 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 27, 2009 3:44 PM EDT
Sun Oct. 25, 2009 8:00 PM EDT
Fri Oct. 23, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Mon Oct. 19, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 16, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Oct. 13, 2009 1:26 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 12, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 9, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Oct. 6, 2009 7:00 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 5, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 2, 2009 1:14 PM EDT
Tue Sep. 29, 2009 2:55 PM EDT
Tue Sep. 29, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 28, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 22, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 21, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Sep. 18, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 15, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 15, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 14, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 14, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Sep. 11, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Wed Sep. 9, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 8, 2009 4:34 PM EDT
Fri Sep. 4, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Thu Sep. 3, 2009 2:01 PM EDT
Tue Sep. 1, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 1, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 31, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Fri Aug. 28, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Wed Aug. 26, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 25, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 25, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Thu Aug. 20, 2009 12:00 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 19, 2009 3:55 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 19, 2009 3:00 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 19, 2009 1:30 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 18, 2009 6:22 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 18, 2009 1:31 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 18, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 18, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 17, 2009 12:17 PM EDT
Mon Aug. 17, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Fri Aug. 14, 2009 2:30 PM EDT
Fri Aug. 14, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Thu Aug. 13, 2009 4:25 PM EDT