Kiera Butler

Kiera Butler

Senior Editor

A senior editor at Mother Jones, Kiera covers health, food, and the environment. She is the author of the new book Raise: What 4-H Teaches 7 Million Kids—and How Its Lessons Could Change Food and Farming Forever (University of California Press).

 

Get my RSS |

People Are Trying to Sell Cinnamon Bark as an Ebola Cure

| Thu Oct. 16, 2014 2:57 PM EDT

Marion Nestle reports that several supplement manufacturers are selling vitamins that promise to prevent or treat Ebola. The claims caught the attention of the FDA, which has issued warning letters to three of the manufacturers: Natural Solutions Foundation, Young Living, and DoTERRA International LLC. The agency lists specific claims it finds worrisome; for example, on a Young Living consultant's website, "Ebola Virus can not live in the presence of cinnamon bark."

Here's a screenshot from Natural Solutions Foundations' website:

An article on the Natural Solutions site talks about "the intentional introduction of Ebola into the United States by what will appear to be ISIS terrorists." It continues, "And it will happen soon, since we know from Dr. Rima's research that Ebola can become an airborne disease in temperate climates, such as North America's coming winter." It urges readers to prepare by stocking up on supplements that contain nanoparticles of silver: "The only protection we have against this new level of tyranny is making sure we do not get sick!!! The best way to do that is to make sure that EVERYONE you can reach has Nano Silver and knows how to use it."

Another supposed natural Ebola cure making the rounds: Vitamin C. Nestle found this gem on an alternative health information site called NaturalHealth365, which claims that a giant dose of vitamin C can cure Ebola (though it doesn't actually sell Vitamin C):

NaturalHealth365

It's not terribly surprising that supplement manufacturers have seized on Ebola. A new Harvard School of Public Health poll has found that 38 percent of Americans (up from 25 percent a few months ago) "are now concerned that they or someone in their immediate family may get sick with Ebola over the next year." That's quite a market.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Wed Jul. 1, 2009 5:30 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 30, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Jun. 23, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 22, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Jun. 19, 2009 2:25 PM EDT
Fri Jun. 19, 2009 9:00 AM EDT
Thu Jun. 18, 2009 4:20 PM EDT
Thu Jun. 18, 2009 1:31 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 17, 2009 2:05 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 17, 2009 9:15 AM EDT
Tue Jun. 16, 2009 2:31 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 16, 2009 1:29 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 16, 2009 9:00 AM EDT
Thu Jun. 11, 2009 3:23 PM EDT
Thu Jun. 11, 2009 2:00 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 10, 2009 3:30 PM EDT
Sun Jun. 7, 2009 1:41 PM EDT
Thu Jun. 4, 2009 4:30 PM EDT
Wed May. 27, 2009 3:30 PM EDT
Tue May. 19, 2009 4:50 PM EDT
Tue May. 19, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Thu May. 7, 2009 2:50 PM EDT
Thu May. 7, 2009 1:14 PM EDT
Wed May. 6, 2009 3:13 PM EDT
Mon May. 4, 2009 4:10 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 29, 2009 6:50 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 29, 2009 4:40 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 29, 2009 3:09 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 29, 2009 1:40 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 15, 2009 3:42 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 10, 2009 1:00 PM EDT
Thu Apr. 9, 2009 1:33 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 8, 2009 6:28 PM EDT
Thu Mar. 26, 2009 4:34 PM EDT
Thu Mar. 26, 2009 1:58 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 25, 2009 12:40 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 24, 2009 12:41 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 9, 2009 7:22 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 9, 2009 6:18 PM EDT
Fri Mar. 6, 2009 7:29 PM EST
Wed Jan. 14, 2009 1:57 PM EST
Tue Nov. 18, 2008 4:00 PM EST
Mon Nov. 17, 2008 5:34 PM EST
Fri Nov. 14, 2008 3:50 PM EST
Mon Nov. 10, 2008 5:53 PM EST