Kristina Rizga

Kristina Rizga is a senior reporter at Mother Jones. You can reach her at Rizga covers education, focusing primarily on how school reforms affect students in the classrooms and how policies create or reduce racial disparities in schools. She is the author of Mission High, which tells the behind-the-scenes story of a public high school in San Francisco struggling to close its achievement gaps. Rizga's writing has been published in the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, and The Nation, among others. She is a fellow of the Equity Reporting Project and an adviser to the National Writing Project. Prior to joining Mother Jones, Rizga co-founded the Baltic Center for Investigative Reporting in her homeland, Latvia, and published and edited WireTap, a political and cultural online magazine.


Fri Sep. 30, 2016 6:00 AM EDT
Thu May. 19, 2016 12:53 PM EDT
Wed Feb. 17, 2016 6:02 PM EST
Tue Jan. 26, 2016 7:00 AM EST
Chicago Teachers Union on strike in July, 2015
Tue Dec. 15, 2015 7:00 AM EST
Wed Sep. 28, 2011 6:30 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 26, 2011 4:58 PM EDT
Thu Jul. 21, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 19, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Thu Jul. 14, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Wed Jul. 13, 2011 2:30 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 6, 2011 3:00 PM EDT
Thu Jun. 30, 2011 6:15 PM EDT