Maddie Oatman

Maddie is a story editor at Mother Jones, based in the San Francisco office. She writes and edits stories about food, health, the environment, and culture, and is the co-host of MoJo's food politics podcast Bite. Her work has also appeared in Grist, Huffington Post, Outside, the Rumpus, and the Best American Science and Nature Writing. You can reach her at moatman@motherjones.com. 

Sat Oct. 12, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Thu Sep. 19, 2013 1:27 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 22, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Wed Jul. 3, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Jul. 1, 2013 4:46 AM EDT
Fri Jun. 14, 2013 2:39 PM EDT
A strain of Lactobacillus plantarum (with false color)
Mon Apr. 22, 2013 5:30 AM EDT
Mon Apr. 22, 2013 4:30 AM EDT
January/February 2013
Fri Mar. 8, 2013 6:05 AM EST
Mon Feb. 18, 2013 6:11 AM EST
Fri Feb. 8, 2013 6:42 PM EST
Sun Jan. 13, 2013 1:49 PM EST
Sun Dec. 23, 2012 6:11 AM EST
Robin Sloan
Wed Nov. 14, 2012 6:03 AM EST
Wed Nov. 7, 2012 3:10 PM EST
Coca Cola bottles.
Tue Nov. 6, 2012 6:52 PM EST
Wed Oct. 31, 2012 5:03 AM EDT
Sugar crips General Foods, 1951
Wed Oct. 31, 2012 5:03 AM EDT
Mon Oct. 29, 2012 5:03 AM EDT
Wed Oct. 17, 2012 5:03 AM EDT
Wed Sep. 26, 2012 5:00 AM EDT