Michael Mechanic

Michael Mechanic

Senior Editor

Michael landed at MoJo after six years as an award-winning features editor at the alt-weekly East Bay Express. He's written for numerous publications, including The Industry Standard, the Los Angeles Times, and Wired. He lives in Oakland, California, with his wife, two kids, four chickens, striped cat, and way too many musical instruments to master.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Michael landed at MoJo after six years as an award-winning feature editor at the alt-weekly East Bay Express. He's written for numerous publications, including The Industry Standard, the Los Angeles Times, and Wired. He set out to be a scientist, and as an undergrad spent a year in an organic chemistry lab at UC-Berkeley, where he was a biochemistry major, trying to synthesize natural poisons found in the skin of certain tropical frogs. He later earned a masters degree in cellular and developmental biology from Harvard University and a second masters in journalism from UC-Berkeley. In 2009, he was a finalist for a National Magazine Award for public service, as one of five writers in MoJo's "Torture Hits Home" package. The father of two mostly charming kids and an only occasionally charming striped cat named Phelps, Michael lives in Oakland, California, where, after years of classical piano and raucous punk-rock drumming (and putting out more than a dozen CDs on his former DIY label, Bad Monkey Records), he has retired to old-time and traditional music, guitar finger-picking, and more recently fiddle and mandolin. He has four chickens—Lucia, Podge, Cat, and Weed Whacker—but what he really covets is a hedgehog.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Obama-Hating Oath Keepers Aim to Form Paramilitary Units

| Tue Oct. 15, 2013 1:59 PM PDT

Oath Keepers, the anti-government group profiled by Justine Sharrock in our March/April 2010 issue, just got a little creepier. The group recruits active and former military members, cops, and other law-enforcement types who claim they are worried about government tyranny, but seem to be equally driven by a deep loathing of President Obama. At their gatherings, members take an oath that they will disobey "unconstitutional" orders. What's unconstitutional is pretty much left up to the individual—even if, like it or not, this isn't how our democracy operates.

Wed Apr. 28, 2010 2:00 AM PDT
Fri Apr. 23, 2010 2:42 PM PDT
Mon Apr. 19, 2010 1:44 PM PDT
Mon Apr. 12, 2010 12:00 PM PDT
Thu Apr. 1, 2010 3:10 PM PDT
Wed Mar. 31, 2010 2:55 PM PDT
Wed Mar. 31, 2010 11:05 AM PDT
Tue Mar. 30, 2010 3:46 PM PDT
Mon Mar. 29, 2010 12:49 PM PDT
Fri Mar. 26, 2010 3:30 AM PDT
Fri Mar. 19, 2010 2:49 PM PDT
Wed Mar. 17, 2010 3:07 PM PDT
Thu Feb. 25, 2010 11:30 AM PST
Mon Feb. 15, 2010 6:00 AM PST
Wed Feb. 10, 2010 2:41 PM PST
Mon Jan. 4, 2010 4:30 AM PST
Thu Dec. 24, 2009 4:34 AM PST
Wed Dec. 16, 2009 4:30 AM PST
Thu Dec. 3, 2009 10:51 AM PST
Mon Nov. 9, 2009 4:30 AM PST
Fri Oct. 30, 2009 3:30 AM PDT
Thu Oct. 22, 2009 4:24 AM PDT
Thu Oct. 15, 2009 11:48 AM PDT
Thu Oct. 15, 2009 9:29 AM PDT
Thu Oct. 8, 2009 1:53 PM PDT
Wed Oct. 7, 2009 10:18 AM PDT
Tue Oct. 6, 2009 3:30 PM PDT
Tue Oct. 6, 2009 11:47 AM PDT
Wed Sep. 30, 2009 12:20 PM PDT
Tue Sep. 22, 2009 11:47 AM PDT
Mon Sep. 21, 2009 3:30 AM PDT
Thu Sep. 17, 2009 10:47 AM PDT
Thu Sep. 17, 2009 9:32 AM PDT
Fri Sep. 11, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Tue Sep. 8, 2009 1:08 PM PDT
Wed Sep. 2, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Mon Aug. 31, 2009 12:52 PM PDT
Mon Aug. 31, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Fri Aug. 28, 2009 12:05 PM PDT
Thu Aug. 27, 2009 12:26 PM PDT
Wed Aug. 12, 2009 1:52 PM PDT
Fri Aug. 7, 2009 11:00 AM PDT
Thu Aug. 6, 2009 10:05 AM PDT
Wed Aug. 5, 2009 8:41 AM PDT
Tue Jul. 21, 2009 1:14 PM PDT
Tue Jul. 21, 2009 11:23 AM PDT
Fri Jul. 17, 2009 2:39 PM PDT
Thu Jul. 16, 2009 1:52 PM PDT