Michael Mechanic

Michael has been a senior editor at Mother Jones for nine years, after spending the previous six as an award-winning features editor at the weekly East Bay Express. In addition to editing stories for print and web, he is in charge of the magazine's culture section. His writing has appeared in a range of newspapers and magazines including Wired, the Los Angeles Times, and The Industry Standard. He lives in Oakland, California, with his wife, two kids, three chickens, striped cat, and too many musical instruments to master.

isolation room
Thu Oct. 18, 2012 3:09 AM EDT
Bain video
Thu Sep. 27, 2012 1:07 PM EDT
Carolina Chocolate Drops
Mon Apr. 9, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Man with fan
Wed Mar. 28, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Thu Mar. 22, 2012 2:05 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 20, 2012 5:30 AM EDT
ILSSMilitarySpendingChart
Mon Mar. 19, 2012 1:02 PM EDT
carolina chocolate drops
Mon Feb. 27, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Mon Feb. 20, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Mon Feb. 13, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Proof: I created Elmo
Wed Jan. 25, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Mon Dec. 5, 2011 5:00 AM EST
Sat Dec. 3, 2011 6:00 AM EST
Thu Dec. 1, 2011 6:30 PM EST
Mitt Romney
Tue Nov. 22, 2011 5:10 PM EST
Fri Oct. 21, 2011 5:30 AM EDT
Sun Aug. 21, 2011 1:15 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 20, 2011 7:51 PM EDT
Fri Jun. 17, 2011 1:57 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 6, 2011 5:30 AM EDT