Michael Mechanic

Michael has been a senior editor at Mother Jones for nine years, after spending the previous six as an award-winning features editor at the weekly East Bay Express. In addition to editing stories for print and web, he is in charge of the magazine's culture section. His writing has appeared in a range of newspapers and magazines including Wired, the Los Angeles Times, and The Industry Standard. He lives in Oakland, California, with his wife, two kids, surly striped cat, and too many musical instruments to master. Fun fact: As a biochemistry major at Cal, he spent a year trying to synthesize natural poisons from those tropical frogs people tell you not to lick. He's also working on a book—well, sort of. If he told you what it's about, he'd have to kill you.

Sun Aug. 21, 2011 2:15 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 20, 2011 8:51 PM EDT
Fri Jun. 17, 2011 2:57 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 6, 2011 6:30 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 6, 2011 6:30 AM EDT
Mon May. 16, 2011 6:50 AM EDT
Mon May. 2, 2011 3:15 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 29, 2011 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Mar. 29, 2011 6:30 AM EDT
Mon Mar. 28, 2011 3:25 PM EDT
Fri Mar. 25, 2011 6:30 AM EDT
Fri Mar. 25, 2011 4:01 AM EDT
Mon Mar. 21, 2011 2:46 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 21, 2011 7:00 AM EDT
Thu Mar. 17, 2011 7:30 AM EDT
Mon Feb. 14, 2011 6:57 PM EST
Fri Feb. 11, 2011 7:00 AM EST
Mon Jan. 31, 2011 7:45 AM EST
Mon Jan. 17, 2011 2:46 PM EST
Mon Jan. 3, 2011 7:47 AM EST
Mon Dec. 20, 2010 7:25 AM EST
Mon Dec. 13, 2010 7:30 AM EST
Mon Nov. 15, 2010 7:25 AM EST
Fri Nov. 5, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Wed Oct. 27, 2010 6:37 AM EDT
Tue Oct. 26, 2010 3:03 PM EDT