Michael Mechanic

Michael has been a senior editor at Mother Jones for nine years, after spending the previous six as an award-winning features editor at the weekly East Bay Express. In addition to editing stories for print and web, he is in charge of the magazine's culture section. His writing has appeared in a range of newspapers and magazines including Wired, the Los Angeles Times, and The Industry Standard. He lives in Oakland, California, with his wife, two kids, three chickens, striped cat, and too many musical instruments to master.

Wed Apr. 28, 2010 4:00 AM EDT
Fri Apr. 23, 2010 4:42 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 19, 2010 3:44 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 12, 2010 2:00 PM EDT
Thu Apr. 1, 2010 5:10 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 31, 2010 4:55 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 31, 2010 1:05 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 30, 2010 5:46 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 29, 2010 2:49 PM EDT
Fri Mar. 26, 2010 5:30 AM EDT
Wed Mar. 24, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Mar. 19, 2010 4:49 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 17, 2010 5:07 PM EDT
Thu Feb. 25, 2010 1:30 PM EST
Mon Feb. 15, 2010 8:00 AM EST
Wed Feb. 10, 2010 4:41 PM EST
Mon Jan. 4, 2010 6:30 AM EST
Thu Dec. 24, 2009 6:34 AM EST
Wed Dec. 16, 2009 6:30 AM EST
Tue Dec. 15, 2009 8:14 PM EST
Fri Dec. 4, 2009 9:22 PM EST
Thu Dec. 3, 2009 12:51 PM EST
Mon Nov. 23, 2009 6:30 AM EST
Mon Nov. 9, 2009 6:30 AM EST
graveyard.jpg
Fri Oct. 30, 2009 5:30 AM EDT
mikestipe.jpg
Thu Oct. 22, 2009 6:24 AM EDT
Mon Oct. 19, 2009 5:30 AM EDT
lauren3.jpg
Thu Oct. 15, 2009 1:48 PM EDT
lauren.jpg
Thu Oct. 15, 2009 11:29 AM EDT
lauren.jpg
Thu Oct. 8, 2009 3:53 PM EDT
lauren2.jpg
Wed Oct. 7, 2009 12:18 PM EDT
riverton.jpg
Tue Oct. 6, 2009 5:30 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 6, 2009 1:47 PM EDT