Michael Mechanic

Michael has been a senior editor at Mother Jones for nine years, after spending the previous six as an award-winning features editor at the weekly East Bay Express. In addition to editing stories for print and web, he is in charge of the magazine's culture section. His writing has appeared in a range of newspapers and magazines including Wired, the Los Angeles Times, and The Industry Standard. He lives in Oakland, California, with his wife, two kids, surly striped cat, and too many musical instruments to master. Fun fact: As a biochemistry major at Cal, he spent a year trying to synthesize natural poisons from those tropical frogs people tell you not to lick. He's also working on a book—well, sort of. If he told you what it's about, he'd have to kill you.

lauren2.jpg
Wed Oct. 7, 2009 1:18 PM EDT
riverton.jpg
Tue Oct. 6, 2009 6:30 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 6, 2009 2:47 PM EDT
paulhipp.jpg
Wed Sep. 30, 2009 3:20 PM EDT
smokestack.jpg
Tue Sep. 29, 2009 5:59 AM EDT
Krakatoa.jpg
Tue Sep. 22, 2009 2:47 PM EDT
Mon Sep. 21, 2009 6:30 AM EDT
kanye.jpg
Thu Sep. 17, 2009 1:47 PM EDT
Thu Sep. 17, 2009 12:32 PM EDT
capital.jpg
Fri Sep. 11, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 8, 2009 4:08 PM EDT
torture-team-stacks.jpg
Wed Sep. 2, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
caduceus2.jpg
Mon Aug. 31, 2009 3:52 PM EDT
Mon Aug. 31, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Fri Aug. 28, 2009 3:05 PM EDT
Thu Aug. 27, 2009 3:26 PM EDT
Mon Aug. 24, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
caduceus.jpg
Wed Aug. 12, 2009 4:52 PM EDT
oreilly.jpg
Fri Aug. 7, 2009 2:00 PM EDT
baby3.jpg
Thu Aug. 6, 2009 1:05 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 5, 2009 11:41 AM EDT
joeteater.jpg
Tue Jul. 21, 2009 4:14 PM EDT
HLgates300x250.jpg
Tue Jul. 21, 2009 2:23 PM EDT
demhealth.jpg
Fri Jul. 17, 2009 5:39 PM EDT
caduceus.jpg
Thu Jul. 16, 2009 4:52 PM EDT
bing.jpg
Mon Jul. 13, 2009 1:23 PM EDT
baby2.jpg
Mon Jul. 13, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
Mon Jul. 6, 2009 4:20 PM EDT
Fri Jun. 12, 2009 12:22 PM EDT
inheritance.jpg
Fri Jun. 12, 2009 7:30 AM EDT
14x_icon.jpg
Mon Jun. 1, 2009 5:37 PM EDT
mazria-300x250.jpg
Fri May. 29, 2009 12:45 PM EDT