Nick Baumann

Nick Baumann

Senior Editor

Nick is based in our DC bureau, where he covers national politics and civil liberties issues. Nick has also written for The Economist, The Atlantic, The Washington Monthly, and Commonweal. Email tips and insights to nbaumann [at] motherjones [dot] com. You can also follow him on Facebook.

Get my RSS |

Why John Boehner Has Gerrymandering to Thank for His Majority

| Thu Nov. 8, 2012 7:03 AM EST

In November 2010, I reported that GOP control of all elements of state government in key swing states—including but not limited to Wisconsin, Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, and Pennsylvania—could ensure a "Republican decade" in control of the House of Representatives. The Democrats' massive 2010 losses couldn't have come at a worse time for the party. Because the census was taken in 2010, GOP control of state legislatures and governors mansions around the country gave Republicans the power to draw congressional district lines largely as they chose. They seized that chance, aggressively gerrymandering so as to protect Republican incumbents and endanger any remaining Democrats. The Dems would have done the same thing, of course, had they won control of these crucial states in 2010. But they didn't.

On Tuesday, the GOP cartographers' hard work paid off. Despite sweeping wins for Democrats in US Senate races and a broad Electoral College victory for President Barack Obama, it was clear early in the night that Republicans would hold on to the House. As Slate's Dave Weigel noted, "ridiculous gerrymanders saved the House Republican majority." In many states the president won convincingly, Democrats elected a minority of the House delegation. Here are the numbers for states that Obama won or came close and where Republicans drew the congressional map:

  • North Carolina, which Obama lost by around 2 percentage points: 9-4 GOP
  • Florida, which Obama won by around half a percentage point: 17-10 GOP
  • Ohio, which Obama won by nearly 2 percentage points: 12-4 GOP
  • Virginia, which Obama won by around 3 percentage points: 8-3 GOP
  • Pennsylvania, which Obama won by more than 5 percentage points: 13-5 GOP*
  • Wisconsin, which Obama won by 6 percentage points: 5-3 GOP
  • Michigan, which Obama won by 8 percentage points: 9-5 GOP

It goes to show that when you get to choose the ground on which electoral battles are fought, you're very likely to win them.

*Correction: This post originally said that Pennsylvania was 8-5 GOP. It's actually 13-5 GOP.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Linda McMahon Spent $100 Million to Lose Twice

| Tue Nov. 6, 2012 9:47 PM EST
Chris Murphy, the next senator from Connecticut

On the last day of her campaign, Linda McMahon got desperate. The former wrestling exec and GOP senate candidate in Connecticut, who has sunk at least $42.6 million into her latest campaign, engaged in a series of misleading tricks that seemed intended to dupe voters into believing she was a Democrat.

Ultimately, it wasn't enough. The blue lean of Connecticut was too great for even McMahon's vast fortune to overcome, and Rep. Chris Murphy, a 39-year-old liberal Democrat, will replace retiring Sen. Joe Lieberman (I) in the Senate come January. Between this campaign and her last losing bid, in 2010, McMahon has now spent a cumulative total of nearly $100 million of her own money in pursuit of federal office. That is more than any other American in history.

Republicans who want to take something good out of the McMahon situation might point to the fact that her spending forced the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee to spend money supporting Murphy. That money could have otherwise been spent in closer races in less-blue states. But that's not much comfort compared to the rejoicing progressives will feel after replacing Lieberman with a young, charismatic, liberal.

There's no Senate election in Connecticut in 2014. So if McMahon wants to spend even more of her money in pursuit of a Senate seat, she'll have to wait—or move.

Wed Apr. 28, 2010 12:23 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 27, 2010 11:59 AM EDT
Mon Apr. 26, 2010 2:15 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 21, 2010 3:31 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 20, 2010 2:21 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 16, 2010 5:13 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 16, 2010 1:17 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 14, 2010 4:30 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 13, 2010 6:14 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 13, 2010 12:06 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 12, 2010 11:33 AM EDT
Mon Apr. 12, 2010 10:47 AM EDT
Mon Apr. 12, 2010 10:06 AM EDT
Fri Apr. 9, 2010 12:15 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 9, 2010 11:20 AM EDT
Tue Apr. 6, 2010 1:25 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 6, 2010 12:01 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 6, 2010 11:42 AM EDT
Mon Apr. 5, 2010 12:22 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 5, 2010 10:37 AM EDT
Thu Apr. 1, 2010 3:25 PM EDT
Thu Apr. 1, 2010 12:12 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 31, 2010 5:25 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 31, 2010 11:43 AM EDT
Wed Mar. 31, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Mar. 30, 2010 10:24 AM EDT
Mon Mar. 22, 2010 12:57 AM EDT
Sun Mar. 21, 2010 4:30 PM EDT
Sun Mar. 21, 2010 3:23 PM EDT
Sat Mar. 20, 2010 5:51 PM EDT
Sat Mar. 20, 2010 10:36 AM EDT
Fri Mar. 19, 2010 8:20 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 17, 2010 12:42 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 16, 2010 1:11 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 15, 2010 1:19 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 15, 2010 12:14 PM EDT
Fri Mar. 12, 2010 3:37 PM EST
Tue Mar. 9, 2010 1:59 PM EST
Tue Mar. 9, 2010 12:40 PM EST
Mon Mar. 8, 2010 12:55 PM EST
Fri Mar. 5, 2010 2:21 PM EST
Wed Mar. 3, 2010 4:45 PM EST
Wed Mar. 3, 2010 1:31 PM EST
Wed Mar. 3, 2010 1:07 PM EST
Mon Mar. 1, 2010 10:45 AM EST