Stephanie Mencimer

Stephanie Mencimer

Reporter

Stephanie works in Mother Jones' Washington bureau. A Utah native and graduate of a crappy public university not worth mentioning, she has spent several years hanging out with angry white people who occasionally don tricorne hats and come to lunch meetings heavily armed.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Stephanie covers legal affairs and domestic policy in Mother Jones' Washington bureau. She is the author of Blocking the Courthouse Door: How the Republican Party and Its Corporate Allies Are Taking Away Your Right to Sue. A contributing editor of the Washington Monthly, a former investigative reporter at the Washington Post, and a senior writer at the Washington City Paper, she was nominated for a National Magazine Award in 2004 for a Washington Monthly article about myths surrounding the medical malpractice system. In 2000, she won the Harry Chapin Media award for reporting on poverty and hunger, and her 2010 story in Mother Jones of the collapse of the welfare system in Georgia and elsewhere won a Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Fri Jul. 16, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Jul. 9, 2010 2:29 PM EDT
Thu Jul. 8, 2010 12:34 PM EDT
Tue Jul. 6, 2010 6:14 AM EDT
Thu Jul. 1, 2010 4:50 AM EDT
Wed Jun. 30, 2010 1:13 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 30, 2010 10:06 AM EDT
Tue Jun. 29, 2010 5:03 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 29, 2010 3:51 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 29, 2010 10:11 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 28, 2010 5:01 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 28, 2010 12:58 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 28, 2010 11:26 AM EDT
Thu Jun. 24, 2010 10:54 AM EDT
Fri Jun. 18, 2010 12:14 PM EDT
Fri Jun. 18, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 14, 2010 9:39 AM EDT
Wed Jun. 9, 2010 12:04 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 9, 2010 7:00 AM EDT
Tue Jun. 8, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 7, 2010 8:17 AM EDT
Tue Jun. 1, 2010 12:23 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 1, 2010 8:30 AM EDT
Fri May. 28, 2010 3:46 PM EDT
Wed May. 26, 2010 1:16 PM EDT
Mon May. 24, 2010 7:40 AM EDT
Wed May. 19, 2010 7:09 PM EDT
Wed May. 19, 2010 5:34 PM EDT
Thu May. 13, 2010 10:57 AM EDT
Wed May. 12, 2010 12:26 PM EDT
Wed May. 12, 2010 8:23 AM EDT
Tue May. 11, 2010 11:06 AM EDT
Tue May. 11, 2010 10:27 AM EDT
Mon May. 10, 2010 8:49 AM EDT
Thu May. 6, 2010 9:06 AM EDT
Fri Apr. 30, 2010 11:06 AM EDT
Wed Apr. 28, 2010 1:58 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 26, 2010 8:42 AM EDT
Thu Apr. 15, 2010 12:06 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 9, 2010 3:26 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 9, 2010 1:19 PM EDT
Thu Mar. 18, 2010 12:32 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 17, 2010 12:55 PM EDT