Tim Murphy

Tim Murphy


Tim Murphy is a senior reporter in MoJo's DC bureau. His writing has been featured in Slate and the Washington Monthly. Email him with tips and insights at tmurphy [at] motherjones [dot] com.

Get my RSS |

A Supermarket Tabloid Company is Funding Chris Christie's Super PAC

| Fri Jul. 31, 2015 12:06 PM EDT

The pro-Chris Christie super-PAC America Leads raised $11 million in the first quarter of 2015, according to filings released by the Federal Election Commission on Friday. Controversial hedge-fund manager Steven A. Cohen gave $1 million. Cleveland Cavaliers owner (and Quicken Loans chief) Dan Gilbert gave $750,000. Home Depot co-founder Ken Langone and WWE magnate Linda McMahon each dropped $250,000. New York Mets owner Fred Wilpon dropped $100,000 that his team's fans dearly wish he'd spent on an outfielder.

Oh, and it's hardly the biggest donation on the list, but America Leads also got $10,000 from an unusual source—a media company. The check came from American Media Inc., the parent company of supermarket tabloids like the National Enquirer, OK!, and Star; and fitness publications like Men's Fitness, Muscle & Fitness; and Flex. What's the Christie connection? In June, the governor named American Media Inc.'s chairman, David Pecker, to his presidential leadership team.

We can't speak for Flex, but the normally scandal-happy Enquirer has been bullish about Christie's chances. Last April, it published an "EXCLUSIVE!" boasting that the governor's White House dreams were "alive" because "American politics is full of comeback stories." And in February, it published another item touting Christie's chances despite "hatchet job" corruption claims.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Michael Bay Made a Movie About Benghazi and It Looks Insane

| Wed Jul. 29, 2015 9:58 AM EDT

Anthropomorphic stick of dynamite Michael Bay, the director of The Rock, Armageddon, Bad Boys, Bad Boys II, and four Transformers movies (also Pain and Gain—don't forget Pain and Gain!), has made a movie about the September 11, 2012, attack on the US consulate in Benghazi, Libya, that left four Americans dead.

The movie's release date is January 15, 2016—just in time for the Iowa caucuses.

The film, 13 Hours, based on a book by the same name, is sure to prompt lots of discussion—intelligent and otherwise—on the presidential candidacy of former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, who was in charge of the State Department at the time of the attack. Here's the trailer:

Fri Feb. 10, 2012 6:30 AM EST
Thu Feb. 9, 2012 1:33 PM EST
Tue Feb. 7, 2012 12:38 PM EST
Mon Feb. 6, 2012 9:00 AM EST
Fri Feb. 3, 2012 5:54 PM EST
Tue Jan. 31, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Fri Jan. 27, 2012 11:38 AM EST
Fri Jan. 27, 2012 11:08 AM EST
Thu Jan. 26, 2012 12:55 PM EST
Thu Jan. 26, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Wed Jan. 25, 2012 8:48 PM EST
Tue Jan. 24, 2012 9:52 AM EST
Mon Jan. 23, 2012 3:14 PM EST
Sat Jan. 21, 2012 10:30 PM EST
Sat Jan. 21, 2012 10:17 AM EST
Thu Jan. 19, 2012 8:58 PM EST
Thu Jan. 19, 2012 4:09 PM EST
Wed Jan. 18, 2012 4:17 PM EST
Wed Jan. 18, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Mon Jan. 16, 2012 11:22 PM EST
Sun Jan. 15, 2012 10:15 PM EST
Fri Jan. 13, 2012 4:10 PM EST
Thu Jan. 12, 2012 1:49 PM EST
Tue Jan. 10, 2012 10:17 AM EST
Mon Jan. 9, 2012 2:00 PM EST
Mon Jan. 9, 2012 12:47 PM EST