Tim Murphy

Tim Murphy

Reporter

Tim Murphy is a senior reporter in MoJo's DC bureau. His writing has been featured in Slate and the Washington Monthly. Email him with tips and insights at tmurphy [at] motherjones [dot] com.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Donald Trump Just Did a Dramatic Reenactment of Ben Carson's Stabbing

| Fri Nov. 13, 2015 8:41 AM EST

Donald Trump is trailing Ben Carson in Iowa and it's starting to get to him. On Thursday night, he told an audience in Iowa that Carson is "pathological, damaged," and sought to prove his point by reenacting the pediatric neurosurgeon's infamous childhood stabbing, in which he claims to have thrust a knife at his relative's abdomen, only to be stopped by a belt buckle. Trump used the incident to paint Carson as both a pathologically violent maniac and a fabulist who couldn't possibly have committed such an act of violence. "How stupid are the people of Iowa?" he asked. "How stupid are the people of the country to believe this crap?"

Update: Trump continued piling onto Carson's knife story with a web ad released Friday:

 

Happy Friday the 13th

A video posted by Donald J. Trump (@realdonaldtrump) on

Ted Cruz Can’t Remember All the Departments He Wants to Defund

| Tue Nov. 10, 2015 10:22 PM EST

Oops.

Tue Jan. 24, 2012 9:52 AM EST
Mon Jan. 23, 2012 3:14 PM EST
Sat Jan. 21, 2012 10:30 PM EST
Sat Jan. 21, 2012 10:17 AM EST
Thu Jan. 19, 2012 8:58 PM EST
Thu Jan. 19, 2012 4:09 PM EST
Wed Jan. 18, 2012 4:17 PM EST
Wed Jan. 18, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Mon Jan. 16, 2012 11:22 PM EST
Sun Jan. 15, 2012 10:15 PM EST
Fri Jan. 13, 2012 4:10 PM EST
Thu Jan. 12, 2012 1:49 PM EST
Tue Jan. 10, 2012 10:17 AM EST
Mon Jan. 9, 2012 2:00 PM EST
Mon Jan. 9, 2012 12:47 PM EST
Sat Jan. 7, 2012 9:57 PM EST
Fri Jan. 6, 2012 3:30 PM EST
Fri Jan. 6, 2012 11:26 AM EST
Thu Jan. 5, 2012 2:00 PM EST
Tue Jan. 3, 2012 10:46 PM EST
Tue Jan. 3, 2012 8:44 PM EST
Tue Jan. 3, 2012 2:00 PM EST
Tue Jan. 3, 2012 4:01 AM EST
Mon Jan. 2, 2012 1:22 PM EST
Mon Jan. 2, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Sun Jan. 1, 2012 6:09 AM EST
Fri Dec. 30, 2011 6:00 AM EST
Fri Dec. 30, 2011 12:09 AM EST