Tim Murphy

Tim Murphy

Reporter

Tim Murphy is a senior reporter in MoJo's DC bureau. His writing has been featured in Slate and the Washington Monthly. Email him with tips and insights at tmurphy [at] motherjones [dot] com.

Get my RSS |

Elizabeth Warren's Latest Comment About Running For President Is the Most Cryptic Yet

| Thu Oct. 23, 2014 1:59 PM EDT
Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.)

With 106 weeks until the next presidential election, speculating about a potential Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) candidacy is like going on a long car ride with a six-year-old. "Are you running?" No. "How about now?" No. "Now?" No. "Now?" No. "What about now?" No. "Are you running?" No. "Are you running?" [exasperated sigh] "Aha!"

But Warren does continue to do the things people who are considering a run for president tend to do—flying to Iowa to rally the troops on behalf of Rep. Bruce Braley, for instance, and going on tour to promote a campaign-style book. Her latest venture, a sit-down interview in the next issue of People magazine, isn't going to do much to quiet the speculation, even as she once more downplayed the prospect of a run:

[S]upporters are already lining up to back an "Elizabeth Warren for President" campaign in 2016. But is the freshman senator from Massachusetts herself on board with a run for the White House? Warren wrinkles her nose.

"I don't think so," she tells PEOPLE in an interview conducted at Warren's Cambridge, Massachusetts, home for this week's issue. "If there's any lesson I've learned in the last five years, it's don't be so sure about what lies ahead. There are amazing doors that could open."

She just doesn't see the door of 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue being one of them. Not yet, anyway. "Right now," Warren says, "I'm focused on figuring out what else I can do from this spot" in the U.S. Senate.

"Amazing doors"; "I don't think"; "right now"—what does it all mean? Warren's not really saying anything we haven't heard from her before. But after then-Sen. Barack Obama's furious denials about running for president eight years ago, no one's ready to take "no" for an answer. At least not yet, anyway.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Which Dad is More Embarrassing: Ron Paul or Rafael Cruz?

| Mon Oct. 20, 2014 2:10 PM EDT

If Sens. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) and Ted Cruz (R-Texas) do battle for the Republican presidential nomination in 2016, they'll have to carefully manage their most popular yet embarrassing surrogates: their fathers. Here's a quick guide to the septuagenarian bomb-throwers.

 
Mon Oct. 24, 2011 9:52 AM EDT
Thu Oct. 20, 2011 8:53 AM EDT
Tue Oct. 18, 2011 11:04 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 18, 2011 10:52 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 17, 2011 9:37 AM EDT
Thu Oct. 13, 2011 10:05 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 7, 2011 4:28 PM EDT
Thu Oct. 6, 2011 9:35 AM EDT
Wed Oct. 5, 2011 11:02 AM EDT
Tue Oct. 4, 2011 7:52 PM EDT
Thu Sep. 29, 2011 5:48 PM EDT
Fri Sep. 23, 2011 1:03 PM EDT
Fri Sep. 23, 2011 11:08 AM EDT
Wed Sep. 21, 2011 11:00 PM EDT
Wed Sep. 21, 2011 10:56 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 19, 2011 11:04 AM EDT
Fri Sep. 16, 2011 11:14 AM EDT
Fri Sep. 16, 2011 6:00 AM EDT
Thu Sep. 15, 2011 10:41 PM EDT