Tim Murphy

Tim Murphy

Reporter

Tim Murphy is a senior reporter at Mother Jones. Email him with tips and insights at tmurphy@motherjones.com.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Donald Trump Just Did a Dramatic Reenactment of Ben Carson's Stabbing

| Fri Nov. 13, 2015 9:41 AM EST

Donald Trump is trailing Ben Carson in Iowa and it's starting to get to him. On Thursday night, he told an audience in Iowa that Carson is "pathological, damaged," and sought to prove his point by reenacting the pediatric neurosurgeon's infamous childhood stabbing, in which he claims to have thrust a knife at his relative's abdomen, only to be stopped by a belt buckle. Trump used the incident to paint Carson as both a pathologically violent maniac and a fabulist who couldn't possibly have committed such an act of violence. "How stupid are the people of Iowa?" he asked. "How stupid are the people of the country to believe this crap?"

Update: Trump continued piling onto Carson's knife story with a web ad released Friday:

 

Happy Friday the 13th

A video posted by Donald J. Trump (@realdonaldtrump) on

Fri Jan. 28, 2011 8:34 PM EST
Wed Jan. 26, 2011 6:59 PM EST
Wed Jan. 26, 2011 2:00 PM EST
Thu Jan. 6, 2011 2:20 PM EST
Thu Dec. 30, 2010 3:00 PM EST
Mon Dec. 27, 2010 2:34 PM EST
Wed Dec. 22, 2010 7:43 PM EST
Mon Dec. 20, 2010 3:55 PM EST
Mon Dec. 20, 2010 2:31 PM EST
Wed Dec. 15, 2010 4:41 PM EST
Wed Dec. 15, 2010 9:00 AM EST
Fri Dec. 10, 2010 7:00 AM EST
Mon Nov. 29, 2010 3:35 PM EST
Mon Nov. 29, 2010 7:35 AM EST
Sun Nov. 28, 2010 12:29 PM EST
Wed Nov. 24, 2010 12:28 PM EST
Fri Nov. 19, 2010 8:30 PM EST
Fri Nov. 19, 2010 2:44 PM EST
Thu Nov. 18, 2010 3:18 PM EST
Wed Nov. 10, 2010 7:00 AM EST
Wed Nov. 3, 2010 1:51 AM EDT
Sat Oct. 30, 2010 6:47 PM EDT
Fri Oct. 29, 2010 1:21 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 26, 2010 8:00 AM EDT
Fri Oct. 22, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Wed Oct. 20, 2010 8:03 AM EDT
Wed Oct. 20, 2010 7:00 AM EDT
Sat Oct. 9, 2010 2:00 PM EDT
Fri Oct. 8, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Oct. 5, 2010 10:29 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 4, 2010 2:32 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 4, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Sun Oct. 3, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Wed Sep. 29, 2010 12:30 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 27, 2010 5:36 PM EDT
Sat Sep. 25, 2010 1:14 AM EDT