Tim Murphy

Tim Murphy

Reporter

Tim Murphy is a senior reporter at Mother Jones. Email him with tips and insights at tmurphy@motherjones.com.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Donald Trump is trailing Ben Carson in Iowa and it's starting to get to him. On Thursday night, he told an audience in Iowa that Carson is "pathological, damaged," and sought to prove his point by reenacting the pediatric neurosurgeon's infamous childhood stabbing, in which he claims to have thrust a knife at his relative's abdomen, only to be stopped by a belt buckle. Trump used the incident to paint Carson as both a pathologically violent maniac and a fabulist who couldn't possibly have committed such an act of violence. "How stupid are the people of Iowa?" he asked. "How stupid are the people of the country to believe this crap?"

Update: Trump continued piling onto Carson's knife story with a web ad released Friday:

 

Happy Friday the 13th

A video posted by Donald J. Trump (@realdonaldtrump) on

Oops.

Fri Jul. 30, 2010 10:28 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 30, 2010 8:50 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 30, 2010 8:21 PM EDT
Thu Jul. 29, 2010 6:25 PM EDT
Thu Jul. 29, 2010 3:29 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 28, 2010 11:52 AM EDT
Wed Jul. 28, 2010 8:38 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 27, 2010 8:40 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 26, 2010 12:15 AM EDT
Sun Jul. 25, 2010 11:07 AM EDT
Sat Jul. 24, 2010 9:48 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 23, 2010 11:56 AM EDT
Wed Jul. 21, 2010 4:39 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 21, 2010 11:43 AM EDT
Wed Jul. 21, 2010 12:10 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 20, 2010 1:02 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 19, 2010 7:36 PM EDT
Sun Jul. 18, 2010 1:47 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 16, 2010 8:57 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 16, 2010 2:13 PM EDT
Thu Jul. 15, 2010 7:01 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 14, 2010 12:48 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 14, 2010 11:46 AM EDT
Mon Jul. 12, 2010 7:17 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 12, 2010 9:43 AM EDT
Sun Jul. 11, 2010 11:46 AM EDT
Fri Jul. 9, 2010 12:49 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 9, 2010 9:59 AM EDT
Wed Jul. 7, 2010 4:03 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 7, 2010 2:19 AM EDT
Wed Jul. 7, 2010 1:33 AM EDT
Mon Jul. 5, 2010 3:29 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 5, 2010 12:40 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 5, 2010 12:11 PM EDT
Sun Jul. 4, 2010 9:26 PM EDT
Sat Jul. 3, 2010 2:41 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 2, 2010 9:26 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 2, 2010 9:52 AM EDT
Thu Jul. 1, 2010 3:35 PM EDT
Thu Jul. 1, 2010 2:12 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 30, 2010 5:45 AM EDT
Thu May. 27, 2010 7:59 PM EDT
Mon May. 24, 2010 12:56 PM EDT
Fri May. 21, 2010 8:26 PM EDT
Mon May. 10, 2010 1:43 PM EDT
Wed May. 5, 2010 8:00 PM EDT
Thu Apr. 29, 2010 5:01 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 28, 2010 2:15 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 26, 2010 3:58 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 23, 2010 7:46 PM EDT