Tim Murphy

Tim Murphy

Reporter

Tim Murphy is a senior reporter in MoJo's DC bureau. His writing has been featured in Slate and the Washington Monthly. Email him with tips and insights at tmurphy [at] motherjones [dot] com.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Donald Trump Just Did a Dramatic Reenactment of Ben Carson's Stabbing

| Fri Nov. 13, 2015 8:41 AM EST

Donald Trump is trailing Ben Carson in Iowa and it's starting to get to him. On Thursday night, he told an audience in Iowa that Carson is "pathological, damaged," and sought to prove his point by reenacting the pediatric neurosurgeon's infamous childhood stabbing, in which he claims to have thrust a knife at his relative's abdomen, only to be stopped by a belt buckle. Trump used the incident to paint Carson as both a pathologically violent maniac and a fabulist who couldn't possibly have committed such an act of violence. "How stupid are the people of Iowa?" he asked. "How stupid are the people of the country to believe this crap?"

Update: Trump continued piling onto Carson's knife story with a web ad released Friday:

 

Happy Friday the 13th

A video posted by Donald J. Trump (@realdonaldtrump) on

Ted Cruz Can’t Remember All the Departments He Wants to Defund

| Tue Nov. 10, 2015 10:22 PM EST

Oops.

Tue May. 29, 2012 1:27 PM EDT
Tue May. 29, 2012 8:39 AM EDT
Fri May. 25, 2012 1:48 PM EDT
Wed May. 23, 2012 11:23 AM EDT
Tue May. 22, 2012 8:42 AM EDT
Mon May. 21, 2012 9:03 AM EDT
Fri May. 18, 2012 9:12 AM EDT
Thu May. 17, 2012 9:38 AM EDT
Thu May. 17, 2012 8:16 AM EDT
Tue May. 15, 2012 8:29 AM EDT
Thu May. 10, 2012 10:06 AM EDT
Wed May. 9, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Wed May. 2, 2012 8:34 AM EDT
Tue May. 1, 2012 11:00 AM EDT
Fri Apr. 13, 2012 1:54 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 10, 2012 4:01 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 10, 2012 1:55 PM EDT
Tue Apr. 3, 2012 9:45 AM EDT
Wed Mar. 21, 2012 11:02 AM EDT