Map of the Day: Who Gets Screwed the Most By BCRA?

The Senate health care bill would increase premiums dramatically: an average of 74 percent when you compare similar policies, according to the Kaiser Family Foundation. EPI breaks that down by state:

Seven states would suffer triple-digit increases: Alabama, Alaska, California, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and West Virginia. All but one of these are states that voted strongly for Donald Trump.

Ten states would escape with increases of less than 50 percent: Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Vermont, Washington DC, and Washington. All but two of them voted for Hillary Clinton.

No state would see an actual premium decrease.

In a way, I suppose you have to congratulate Republicans. They’s so dedicated to dismantling Obamacare that they’re willing to endorse a plan that hurts every single state, but hurts red states the most and blue states the least. All so the Wall Street crowd can get a tax break. I’m guessing that this is not really what Trump’s fans thought they were signing up for when they voted for him.


Mother Jones was founded as a nonprofit in 1976 because we knew corporations and the wealthy wouldn't fund the type of hard-hitting journalism we set out to do.

Today, reader support makes up about two-thirds of our budget, allows us to dig deep on stories that matter, and lets us keep our reporting free for everyone. If you value what you get from Mother Jones, please join us with a tax-deductible donation today so we can keep on doing the type of journalism 2019 demands.

We Recommend


Sign up for our newsletters

Subscribe and we'll send Mother Jones straight to your inbox.

Get our award-winning magazine

Save big on a full year of investigations, ideas, and insights.


Support our journalism

Help Mother Jones' reporters dig deep with a tax-deductible donation.


We have a new comment system! We are now using Coral, from Vox Media, for comments on all new articles. We'd love your feedback.