These States Are Taking Trump to Court Over DACA

And they’re using the president’s own words against him.

Renee Jones Schneider/ZUMA

Fifteen states and the District of Columbia are suing to block President Donald Trump’s plan to rescind the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program, claiming the move is in violation of the Constitution’s due process clause. The lawsuit, which was filed Wednesday in New York, lists several of the president’s statements during the campaign as evidence that his decision to end the program, known as DACA, is discriminatory and aimed to “punish and disparage people with Mexican roots.” 

On Tuesday, Attorney General Jeff Sessions announced the president’s decision, which will now leave it up to Congress to pass a legislative replacement in the next six months. The announcement immediately sparked nationwide protests and calls to fight the administration’s latest move on immigration. 

“The consequence of the President’s animus-driven decision is that approximately 800,000 persons who have availed themselves of the program will ultimately lose its protections and will be exposed to removal when their authorizations expire and they cannot seek renewal,” the lawsuit read. 

In 2012, then-President Barack Obama used his executive power to create the program that shielded nearly 800,000 immigrants who arrived to the country as children from the threat of deportation. It also allowed recipients referred to as Dreamers to receive employment authorization documents. 

The states included in the lawsuit are New York, Massachusetts, Washington, Connecticut, Delaware, District Of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Virginia.

After hinting on Twitter he might reconsider the decision in six months, the president on Wednesday said he had “no second thoughts” about the plan.

Read the lawsuit below:


Mother Jones was founded as a nonprofit in 1976 because we knew corporations and the wealthy wouldn't fund the type of hard-hitting journalism we set out to do.

Today, reader support makes up about two-thirds of our budget, allows us to dig deep on stories that matter, and lets us keep our reporting free for everyone. If you value what you get from Mother Jones, please join us with a tax-deductible donation today so we can keep on doing the type of journalism 2019 demands.

We Recommend


Give a Year of the Truth

at our special holiday rate

just $12

Order Now

Sign up for our newsletters

Subscribe and we'll send Mother Jones straight to your inbox.

Support our journalism

Help Mother Jones' reporters dig deep with a tax-deductible donation.


We have a new comment system! We are now using Coral, from Vox Media, for comments on all new articles. We'd love your feedback.