Michael Mechanic

Michael Mechanic

Senior Editor

Michael landed at MoJo after six years as an award-winning features editor at the alt-weekly East Bay Express. He's written for numerous publications, including The Industry Standard, the Los Angeles Times, and Wired. He lives in Oakland, California, with his wife, two kids, four chickens, striped cat, and way too many musical instruments to master.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Michael landed at MoJo after six years as an award-winning feature editor at the alt-weekly East Bay Express. He's written for numerous publications, including The Industry Standard, the Los Angeles Times, and Wired. He set out to be a scientist, and as an undergrad spent a year in an organic chemistry lab at UC-Berkeley, where he was a biochemistry major, trying to synthesize natural poisons found in the skin of certain tropical frogs. He later earned a masters degree in cellular and developmental biology from Harvard University and a second masters in journalism from UC-Berkeley. In 2009, he was a finalist for a National Magazine Award for public service, as one of five writers in MoJo's "Torture Hits Home" package. The father of two mostly charming kids and an only occasionally charming striped cat named Phelps, Michael lives in Oakland, California, where, after years of classical piano and raucous punk-rock drumming (and putting out more than a dozen CDs on his former DIY label, Bad Monkey Records), he has retired to old-time and traditional music, guitar finger-picking, and more recently fiddle and mandolin. He has four chickens—Lucia, Podge, Cat, and Weed Whacker—but what he really covets is a hedgehog.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Mon Mar. 28, 2011 3:25 PM EDT
Fri Mar. 25, 2011 6:30 AM EDT
Fri Mar. 25, 2011 4:01 AM EDT
Mon Mar. 21, 2011 2:46 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 21, 2011 7:00 AM EDT
Thu Mar. 17, 2011 7:30 AM EDT
Mon Feb. 14, 2011 6:57 PM EST
Mon Jan. 31, 2011 7:45 AM EST
Mon Jan. 17, 2011 2:46 PM EST
Mon Jan. 3, 2011 7:47 AM EST
Mon Dec. 20, 2010 7:25 AM EST
Mon Dec. 13, 2010 7:30 AM EST
Mon Nov. 15, 2010 7:25 AM EST
Wed Oct. 27, 2010 6:37 AM EDT
Tue Oct. 26, 2010 3:03 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 18, 2010 7:00 AM EDT
Mon Oct. 18, 2010 6:51 AM EDT
Mon Sep. 27, 2010 6:31 AM EDT
Wed Sep. 22, 2010 6:16 PM EDT
Mon Sep. 20, 2010 6:18 AM EDT
Thu Sep. 16, 2010 11:13 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 13, 2010 3:51 PM EDT
Thu Jul. 8, 2010 7:04 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 5, 2010 1:23 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 2, 2010 5:46 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 28, 2010 7:10 AM EDT
Thu Jun. 10, 2010 5:34 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 8, 2010 3:34 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 8, 2010 1:52 PM EDT
Wed Jun. 2, 2010 8:48 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 1, 2010 5:50 PM EDT
Mon May. 31, 2010 7:02 AM EDT
Mon May. 31, 2010 7:00 AM EDT
Thu May. 27, 2010 5:06 PM EDT
Tue May. 25, 2010 7:00 AM EDT
Fri May. 21, 2010 8:54 PM EDT
Thu May. 20, 2010 1:59 PM EDT
Tue May. 18, 2010 7:00 AM EDT
Mon May. 17, 2010 7:30 AM EDT
Thu May. 13, 2010 3:40 PM EDT