Michael Mechanic

Michael Mechanic

Senior Editor

Michael has been a senior editor at MoJo for seven years, after spending nearly as long as an award-winning features editor at the alt-weekly East Bay Express. He edits (and occasionally writes) features, as well as being in charge of the magazine's Mixed Media section. His writing has appeared in a range of alt-weeklies, newspapers, and magazines including Wired, The Industry Standard, and the Los Angeles Times. He lives in Oakland, California, with his wife, two kids, four chickens, striped cat, and way too many musical instruments to master.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Michael has been a senior editor at MoJo for seven years, after spending nearly as long as an award-winning features editor at the alt-weekly East Bay Express. He edits (and occasionally writes) features, as well as being in charge of the magazine's Mixed Media section. His writing has appeared in a range of alt-weeklies, newspapers, and magazines including Wired, The Industry Standard, and the Los Angeles Times. He set out to be a scientist, and as an undergrad spent a year in an organic chemistry lab at UC-Berkeley, where he was a biochemistry major, trying to synthesize tropical frog poisons. He later earned a masters degree in cellular and developmental biology from Harvard University and a masters in journalism from Cal. In 2009, he was a finalist for a National Magazine Award for public service as one of five writers in MoJo's "Torture Hits Home" package. (His contribution, "Voluntary Confinement," involved a reality TV show that held contestants in isolation.) He also won a 2014 Society for Professional Journalists award for "It Was Something Like Slavery," a photoessay he wrote with photographer Nina Berman. The father of two preteens and caretaker of a surly cat named Phelps, Michael lives in Oakland, California, where, after years of classical piano and raucous punk-rock drumming (and releasing more than a dozen CDs on his former DIY label, Bad Monkey Records), he has retired to old-time fiddling. But you never know.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Thu May. 20, 2010 12:59 PM EDT
Tue May. 18, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Mon May. 17, 2010 6:30 AM EDT
Thu May. 13, 2010 2:40 PM EDT
Wed May. 12, 2010 4:08 PM EDT
Tue May. 11, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Mon May. 10, 2010 6:00 AM EDT
Fri May. 7, 2010 2:43 PM EDT
Wed Apr. 28, 2010 4:00 AM EDT
Fri Apr. 23, 2010 4:42 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 19, 2010 3:44 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 12, 2010 2:00 PM EDT
Thu Apr. 1, 2010 5:10 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 31, 2010 4:55 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 31, 2010 1:05 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 30, 2010 5:46 PM EDT
Mon Mar. 29, 2010 2:49 PM EDT
Fri Mar. 26, 2010 5:30 AM EDT
Fri Mar. 19, 2010 4:49 PM EDT
Wed Mar. 17, 2010 5:07 PM EDT
Thu Feb. 25, 2010 1:30 PM EST
Mon Feb. 15, 2010 8:00 AM EST
Wed Feb. 10, 2010 4:41 PM EST
Mon Jan. 4, 2010 6:30 AM EST
Thu Dec. 24, 2009 6:34 AM EST
Wed Dec. 16, 2009 6:30 AM EST
Thu Dec. 3, 2009 12:51 PM EST
Mon Nov. 9, 2009 6:30 AM EST
Fri Oct. 30, 2009 5:30 AM EDT
Thu Oct. 22, 2009 6:24 AM EDT
Thu Oct. 15, 2009 1:48 PM EDT
Thu Oct. 15, 2009 11:29 AM EDT
Thu Oct. 8, 2009 3:53 PM EDT
Wed Oct. 7, 2009 12:18 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 6, 2009 5:30 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 6, 2009 1:47 PM EDT
Wed Sep. 30, 2009 2:20 PM EDT
Tue Sep. 22, 2009 1:47 PM EDT
Mon Sep. 21, 2009 5:30 AM EDT
Thu Sep. 17, 2009 12:47 PM EDT
Thu Sep. 17, 2009 11:32 AM EDT
Fri Sep. 11, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Sep. 8, 2009 3:08 PM EDT
Wed Sep. 2, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 31, 2009 2:52 PM EDT
Mon Aug. 31, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Aug. 28, 2009 2:05 PM EDT
Thu Aug. 27, 2009 2:26 PM EDT