Meet the Members of the Tea Party Caucus

Flickr/<a href="">Gage Skidmore</a> (<a href="">Creative Commons</a>).

Rep. Michele Bachmann’s newly formed Tea Party Caucus met for the first time on Wednesday morning.

The group, which Bachmann describes as “a listening ear to tea parties,” is now comprised of 24 33 House Republicans. A write-up of the press conference will come shortly (you can now read the full post here), but below is the starting line-up of members to whet your appetite.

Update: FrumForum reports that not all of Republicans listed as members appear to have actually joined the caucus. Staff members for Rep. John Mica (R-Fl.) and Rep. John Fleming (R-La.) said Wednesday afternoon that they didn’t believe their bosses had joined. And the press secretary for other members said they were not aware that the roster would be publicly released today. The list has since been pulled from Bachmann’s website, and the names below are from a list that Bachmann’s press secretary had distributed at a press conference earlier Wednesday morning.

Another Update: Bachmann’s staff re-posted the caucus list on their website. Two members on the original list, Rep. Mica and Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-Fl.) have been removed. But five more have been added: Rodney Alexander (R-La.), Rob Bishop (R-Ut.), Tom Graves (R-Ga.), and Denny Rehberg (R-Mt.), and Adrian Smith (R-Neb.).

Todd Akin (MO-2)
Michele Bachmann (MN-6)
Roscoe Bartlett (MD-6)
Joe Barton (TX-6)
Gus Bilirakis (FL-9)
Paul Broun (GA-10)
Michael Burgess (TX-26)
Dan Burton (IN-5)
John Carter (TX-31)
John Culberson (TX-7)
John Fleming (LA-4)
Trent Franks (AZ-2)
Phil Gingrey (GA-11)
Louie Gohmert (TX-1)
Pete Hoekstra (MI-2)
Walter Jones (NC-3)
Steve King (IA-5)
Doug Lamborn (CO-5)
Cynthia Lummis (WY)
John Mica (FL-7)
Gary Miller (CA-42)
Jerry Moran (KS-1)
Mike Pence (IN-6)
Tom Price (GA-6)
Pete Sessions (TX-32)
Lamar Smith (TX-21)
Cliff Stearns (FL-6)
Todd Tiahrt (KS-4)
Joe Wilson (SC-2)


We recently wrapped up the crowdfunding campaign for our ambitious Mother Jones Corruption Project, and it was a smashing success. About 10,364 readers pitched in with donations averaging $45, and together they contributed about $467,374 toward our $500,000 goal.

That's amazing. We still have donations from letters we sent in the mail coming back to us, so we're on pace to hit—if not exceed—that goal. Thank you so much. We'll keep you posted here as the project ramps up, and you can join the hundreds of readers who have alerted us to corruption to dig into.

We Recommend


Sign up for our newsletters

Subscribe and we'll send Mother Jones straight to your inbox.

Get our award-winning magazine

Save big on a full year of investigations, ideas, and insights.


Support our journalism

Help Mother Jones' reporters dig deep with a tax-deductible donation.


Share your feedback: We’re planning to launch a new version of the comments section. Help us test it.