Kiera Butler

Kiera Butler

Senior Editor

A senior editor at Mother Jones, Kiera covers health, food, and the environment. She is the author of the new book Raise: What 4-H Teaches 7 Million Kids—and How Its Lessons Could Change Food and Farming Forever (University of California Press).

 

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

MAP: 2012 Was the Hottest Year on Record in the US

| Wed Jan. 9, 2013 5:34 PM EST

Just saying.

This NOAA map shows a sampling of places where weather records were broken last year. You probably guessed that red indicates heat. Yellow represents dryness; orange is a double whammy record for heat and dryness.

Image courtesy of NOAA

Lisa Jackson Leaves the EPA

| Thu Dec. 27, 2012 11:52 AM EST

EPA chief Lisa Jackson has stepped down after four years on the job. The NY Times puts her resignation in the context of what many perceive as a lack of climate-change action on the part of the Obama administration:

Ms. Jackson's departure comes as many in the environmental movement are questioning Mr. Obama's commitment to dealing with climate change and other environmental problems. After his re-election, and a campaign in which global warming was barely mentioned by either candidate, Mr. Obama said that his first priority would be jobs and the economy and that he intended only to foster a "conversation" on climate change in the coming months.

Here's Jackson's statement:

I want to thank President Obama for the honor he bestowed on me and the confidence he placed in me four years ago this month when he announced my nomination as Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency. At the time I spoke about the need to address climate change, but also said: "There is much more on the agenda: air pollution, toxic chemicals and children’s health issues, redevelopment and waste-site cleanup issues, and justice for the communities who bear disproportionate risk." As the President said earlier this year when he addressed EPA’s employees, "You help make sure the air we breathe, the water we drink, the food we eat are safe. You help protect the environment not just for our children but their children. And you keep us moving toward energy independence…We have made historic progress on all these fronts." So, I will leave the EPA confident the ship is sailing in the right direction, and ready in my own life for new challenges, time with my family and new opportunities to make a difference.

More at NY Times.

Tue Aug. 12, 2014 12:35 PM EDT
Thu Jun. 26, 2014 5:42 PM EDT
Fri Apr. 25, 2014 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Nov. 11, 2013 6:00 AM EST
Mon Sep. 16, 2013 1:28 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 15, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Mon May. 13, 2013 5:00 AM EDT
Thu Dec. 27, 2012 11:52 AM EST
Fri Sep. 21, 2012 1:02 PM EDT
Tue Sep. 18, 2012 3:37 PM EDT
Fri Aug. 31, 2012 10:12 AM EDT
Thu Aug. 23, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 20, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Thu Aug. 16, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Aug. 10, 2012 1:43 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 7, 2012 11:49 AM EDT
Thu Jul. 19, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Wed May. 16, 2012 2:43 PM EDT
Wed May. 16, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Tue May. 15, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Fri May. 11, 2012 2:08 PM EDT
Mon Apr. 2, 2012 5:00 AM EDT
Fri Mar. 16, 2012 1:59 PM EDT
Mon Feb. 27, 2012 6:00 AM EST