Kiera Butler

Kiera Butler

Senior Editor

A senior editor at Mother Jones, Kiera covers health, food, and the environment. She is the author of the new book Raise: What 4-H Teaches 7 Million Kids—and How Its Lessons Could Change Food and Farming Forever (University of California Press).

 

Get my RSS |

People Are Trying to Sell Cinnamon Bark as an Ebola Cure

| Thu Oct. 16, 2014 2:57 PM EDT

Marion Nestle reports that several supplement manufacturers are selling vitamins that promise to prevent or treat Ebola. The claims caught the attention of the FDA, which has issued warning letters to three of the manufacturers: Natural Solutions Foundation, Young Living, and DoTERRA International LLC. The agency lists specific claims it finds worrisome; for example, on a Young Living consultant's website, "Ebola Virus can not live in the presence of cinnamon bark."

Here's a screenshot from Natural Solutions Foundations' website:

An article on the Natural Solutions site talks about "the intentional introduction of Ebola into the United States by what will appear to be ISIS terrorists." It continues, "And it will happen soon, since we know from Dr. Rima's research that Ebola can become an airborne disease in temperate climates, such as North America's coming winter." It urges readers to prepare by stocking up on supplements that contain nanoparticles of silver: "The only protection we have against this new level of tyranny is making sure we do not get sick!!! The best way to do that is to make sure that EVERYONE you can reach has Nano Silver and knows how to use it."

Another supposed natural Ebola cure making the rounds: Vitamin C. Nestle found this gem on an alternative health information site called NaturalHealth365, which claims that a giant dose of vitamin C can cure Ebola (though it doesn't actually sell Vitamin C):

NaturalHealth365

It's not terribly surprising that supplement manufacturers have seized on Ebola. A new Harvard School of Public Health poll has found that 38 percent of Americans (up from 25 percent a few months ago) "are now concerned that they or someone in their immediate family may get sick with Ebola over the next year." That's quite a market.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Mon Apr. 11, 2011 4:30 AM EDT
Fri Apr. 1, 2011 3:40 PM EDT
Fri Mar. 11, 2011 3:37 PM EST
Mon Mar. 7, 2011 5:30 AM EST
Thu Feb. 24, 2011 6:00 AM EST
Mon Feb. 7, 2011 5:30 AM EST
Tue Jan. 25, 2011 6:00 AM EST
Mon Jan. 10, 2011 5:30 AM EST
Mon Dec. 27, 2010 5:30 AM EST
Tue Nov. 16, 2010 10:00 AM EST
Tue Nov. 16, 2010 9:00 AM EST
Tue Nov. 9, 2010 2:16 PM EST
Mon Nov. 8, 2010 4:30 AM EST
Tue Oct. 19, 2010 3:44 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 18, 2010 4:30 AM EDT
Wed Oct. 13, 2010 3:34 PM EDT
Mon Sep. 20, 2010 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 30, 2010 4:30 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 9, 2010 4:30 AM EDT
Fri Jul. 30, 2010 7:00 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 26, 2010 4:30 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 28, 2010 5:30 AM EDT
Tue Jun. 22, 2010 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 21, 2010 4:30 AM EDT
Fri Jun. 18, 2010 5:00 AM EDT
Mon Jun. 7, 2010 6:00 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 7, 2010 4:30 AM EDT
Thu Jun. 3, 2010 3:28 PM EDT