Kiera Butler

Kiera Butler

Senior Editor

Kiera answers your green questions every week in her Econundrums column. She was a hypochondriac even before she started researching germ warfare.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Kiera has written about the environment, arts and culture, and more for Columbia Journalism Review, Orion, Audubon, OnEarth, Plenty, and the Utne Reader. She lives in Berkeley and recently planted 30 onions in her backyard.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Quick Reads: "Any Way You Slice It" by Stan Cox

| Mon May. 13, 2013 3:00 AM PDT

Any Way You Slice It: The Past, Present, and Future of Rationing

By Stan Cox

THE NEW PRESS

In this lucid and lively book, Stan Cox, an environmental writer whose last book charted the effects of air conditioning on the American landscape, explains how "rationing" has become a dirty word. Through examples ranging from post-Hurricane Sandy gas shortages to China's one-child policy, he depicts a society anxious about our right to consumer choice. "Whenever there's a ceiling on available goods, no one is happy," Cox writes. But sooner or later we'll almost certainly have to ration food, water, and fossil fuels. "If rationing becomes unavoidable, the way it happens—justly or harshly—will depend very much on whether we have managed to build a more just society."

Fri Aug. 7, 2009 9:09 AM PDT
Thu Aug. 6, 2009 12:03 PM PDT
Thu Aug. 6, 2009 10:00 AM PDT
Wed Aug. 5, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Tue Aug. 4, 2009 11:44 AM PDT
Tue Aug. 4, 2009 10:30 AM PDT
Mon Aug. 3, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Fri Jul. 31, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Thu Jul. 30, 2009 3:50 PM PDT
Thu Jul. 30, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Wed Jul. 29, 2009 12:38 PM PDT
Wed Jul. 29, 2009 11:20 AM PDT
Wed Jul. 29, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Tue Jul. 28, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Fri Jul. 24, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Wed Jul. 22, 2009 11:42 AM PDT
Wed Jul. 22, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Tue Jul. 21, 2009 2:13 PM PDT
Mon Jul. 20, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Fri Jul. 17, 2009 12:02 PM PDT
Fri Jul. 17, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Wed Jul. 15, 2009 9:33 AM PDT
Tue Jul. 14, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Mon Jul. 13, 2009 10:05 AM PDT
Fri Jul. 10, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Tue Jul. 7, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Mon Jul. 6, 2009 2:55 PM PDT
Fri Jul. 3, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Thu Jul. 2, 2009 4:50 PM PDT
Wed Jul. 1, 2009 3:30 PM PDT
Tue Jun. 30, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Tue Jun. 23, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Mon Jun. 22, 2009 4:00 AM PDT
Fri Jun. 19, 2009 12:25 PM PDT
Fri Jun. 19, 2009 7:00 AM PDT
Thu Jun. 18, 2009 2:20 PM PDT
Thu Jun. 18, 2009 11:31 AM PDT
Wed Jun. 17, 2009 12:05 PM PDT
Wed Jun. 17, 2009 7:15 AM PDT
Tue Jun. 16, 2009 12:31 PM PDT
Tue Jun. 16, 2009 11:29 AM PDT
Tue Jun. 16, 2009 7:00 AM PDT
Thu Jun. 11, 2009 1:23 PM PDT
Thu Jun. 11, 2009 12:00 PM PDT
Wed Jun. 10, 2009 1:30 PM PDT
Sun Jun. 7, 2009 11:41 AM PDT
Thu Jun. 4, 2009 2:30 PM PDT
Wed May. 27, 2009 1:30 PM PDT