Kiera Butler

Kiera Butler

Senior Editor

A senior editor at Mother Jones, Kiera covers health, food, and the environment. She is the author of the new book Raise: What 4-H Teaches 7 Million Kids—and How Its Lessons Could Change Food and Farming Forever (University of California Press).

 

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

I Am Being Followed By an Army of Twitter Lady Bots

| Wed Oct. 22, 2014 1:50 PM EDT

I've been making a real effort to be better at Twitter lately. I've been tweeting more, striking a conversational tone, and trying to "just be myself," like people who know more about Twitter than me told me to. So I was thrilled this week when my follower count zoomed up from 3,030 to 3,066 over the course of just a few days. My efforts must have paid off, I thought.

But then, I looked at my new followers. They all seemed pretty annoying. IN EXACTLY THE SAME WAY. Check it out:

"Hipster-friendly music practitioner"? "Total travel advocate"? "Beer practitioner"? Ew!

The formula for the handles seems to be: first name, middle initial, last name. And the bio items look like they're generated from a list of bland hobbies and jobs or something. All over the backdrop of some irrelevant stock art.

Here are some of their tweets:

Creepy Twitter lady bots, what do you want from me?

Drinking a "Medium" Soda Every Day Can Age You As Much As Smoking Does

| Mon Oct. 20, 2014 1:28 PM EDT

Just as soda companies plunk down millions of dollars to defeat local soda-tax ballot measures, researchers have found a link between regular soda consumption and premature aging.

Published in the peer-reviewed Journal of Public Health, a study of 5,300 adults compared the cells of people who drink soda every day to those of their non-soda-drinking counterparts. In the soda group, the ends of the chromosomes—known as telomeres—were shorter, a sign of their cells' diminished ability to regenerate. Our telomeres naturally shorten as we age, but scientists have discovered that a few behaviors—including smoking—can shorten them prematurely.

And here's the really interesting part: People who drank a 20-ounce soda every day experienced an additional 4.6 years of telomere aging—the same amount observed in smokers. "The extremely high dose of sugar that we can put into our body within seconds by drinking sugared beverages is uniquely toxic to metabolism," lead author Elissa Epel, a professor of psychiatry at University of California-San Francisco, told Time.

The researchers didn't find the same effect in those who drank diet sodas or 100 percent fruit juice.

Fri Aug. 28, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Wed Aug. 26, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 25, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 25, 2009 5:00 AM EDT
Thu Aug. 20, 2009 11:00 AM EDT
Wed Aug. 19, 2009 2:55 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 19, 2009 2:00 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 19, 2009 12:30 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 18, 2009 5:22 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 18, 2009 12:31 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 18, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 18, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 17, 2009 11:17 AM EDT
Mon Aug. 17, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Aug. 14, 2009 1:30 PM EDT
Fri Aug. 14, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Thu Aug. 13, 2009 3:25 PM EDT
Thu Aug. 13, 2009 1:30 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 12, 2009 4:38 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 11, 2009 6:05 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 11, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Aug. 7, 2009 11:09 AM EDT
Thu Aug. 6, 2009 2:03 PM EDT
Thu Aug. 6, 2009 12:00 PM EDT
Wed Aug. 5, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 4, 2009 1:44 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 4, 2009 12:30 PM EDT
Mon Aug. 3, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Jul. 31, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Thu Jul. 30, 2009 5:50 PM EDT
Thu Jul. 30, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Wed Jul. 29, 2009 2:38 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 29, 2009 1:20 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 29, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 28, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Jul. 24, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Wed Jul. 22, 2009 1:42 PM EDT
Wed Jul. 22, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 21, 2009 4:13 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 20, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Jul. 17, 2009 2:02 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 17, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Wed Jul. 15, 2009 11:33 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 14, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Jul. 13, 2009 12:05 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 10, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Jul. 7, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Mon Jul. 6, 2009 4:55 PM EDT
Fri Jul. 3, 2009 6:00 AM EDT
Thu Jul. 2, 2009 6:50 PM EDT