Tim Murphy

Tim Murphy

Reporter

Tim Murphy is a senior reporter in MoJo's DC bureau. His writing has been featured in Slate and the Washington Monthly. Email him with tips and insights at tmurphy [at] motherjones [dot] com.

Get my RSS |

Roanoke Mayor Makes the Most Appalling Argument Yet for Rejecting Syrian Refugees

| Wed Nov. 18, 2015 5:35 PM EST

Here is Mayor David Bowers of Roanoke, Virginia—a member of Hillary Clinton's Virginia Leadership Council—making perhaps the worst argument we've seen yet for rejecting Syrian refugees:

A take so bad that it prompted this member of Congress to weigh in:

 

Update: Bowers is off the Clinton team as of Wednesday afternoon.

Advertise on MotherJones.com

State Department Says Governors Can't Stop Refugees From Entering Their States

| Tue Nov. 17, 2015 12:37 PM EST

On Monday, as more than a dozen mostly Republican governors pledged to block Syrian refugees from being resettled in their states, the State Department was mum about the legal ramifications, offering only a cautious statement that its lawyers were looking into it. By Tuesday, apparently, that review had been completed.

"This is a federal program carried out under the authority of federal law and refugees arriving in the United States are protected by the Constitution and federal law," a senior State Department official told reporters on a conference call, when asked about the governors' statements. Simply put, once a refugee has come to the United States, "he or she is also free to move anywhere in the country," just like anyone else. And there's nothing Bobby Jindal or Chris Christie can do about it.

But, the official was quick to point out, the government also wasn't interested in resettling refugees unilaterally. Although state and local governments have only a consultative role in the process, "this is a program that is very much dependent on the support of local communities" to make the adjustment to a new life work—picking a new arrival up at the airport, furnishing a new house, finding gainful employment, and providing access to health care. And in that respect, the governors' strongest bargaining chip might be their open hostility. "We don't want to send refugees anywhere where they would not be welcomed."

Wed Mar. 21, 2012 11:02 AM EDT
Tue Mar. 20, 2012 6:33 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 13, 2012 11:04 PM EDT
Tue Mar. 6, 2012 11:55 PM EST
Tue Mar. 6, 2012 12:20 PM EST
Tue Feb. 28, 2012 9:16 PM EST
Wed Feb. 22, 2012 9:28 PM EST
Wed Feb. 22, 2012 4:23 PM EST
Fri Feb. 17, 2012 7:35 PM EST
Wed Feb. 15, 2012 5:21 PM EST
Tue Feb. 14, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Mon Feb. 13, 2012 4:33 PM EST
Fri Feb. 10, 2012 6:30 AM EST
Thu Feb. 9, 2012 1:33 PM EST
Tue Feb. 7, 2012 12:38 PM EST
Mon Feb. 6, 2012 9:00 AM EST
Fri Feb. 3, 2012 5:54 PM EST
Tue Jan. 31, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Fri Jan. 27, 2012 11:38 AM EST
Fri Jan. 27, 2012 11:08 AM EST
Thu Jan. 26, 2012 12:55 PM EST
Thu Jan. 26, 2012 6:00 AM EST
Wed Jan. 25, 2012 8:48 PM EST