Tim Murphy

Tim Murphy

Reporter

Tim Murphy is a senior reporter in MoJo's DC bureau. His writing has been featured in Slate and the Washington Monthly. Email him with tips and insights at tmurphy [at] motherjones [dot] com.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Montana GOP Legislator Wants to Ban Yoga Pants

| Wed Feb. 11, 2015 11:46 AM EST

Montana Republican state Rep. David Moore has a plan to guide America out of the darkness—ban yoga pants.

Moore, who is upset that group of naked bicyclists pedaled through Missoula last year, decided that what his state really needs right now is tighter regulations on trousers. His proposed bill, HB 365, would outlaw not just nudity, but also "any device, costume, or covering that gives the appearance of or simulates the genitals, pubic hair, anus region, or pubic hair region." Per the Billings Gazette:

The Republican from Missoula said tight-fitting beige clothing could be considered indecent exposure under his proposal.

"Yoga pants should be illegal in public anyway," Moore said after the hearing.

Moore said he wouldn’t have a problem with people being arrested for wearing provocative clothing but that he'd trust law enforcement officials to use their discretion. He couldn’t be sure whether police would act on that provision or if Montana residents would challenge it.

"I don't have a crystal ball," Moore said.

Merlin's pants! According to the Great Falls Tribune, Moore elaborated that he also believes Speedos should be illegal.

HB 365 continues a miraculous stretch for the Montana legislature. Just last December the Republican-controlled legislature issued new dress-code guidelines for the state capitol, advising women that they should "should be sensitive to skirt lengths and necklines."

Update: Moore's bill has been tabled.

Sun Jan. 15, 2012 11:15 PM EST
Fri Jan. 13, 2012 5:10 PM EST
Thu Jan. 12, 2012 2:49 PM EST
Tue Jan. 10, 2012 11:17 AM EST
Mon Jan. 9, 2012 3:00 PM EST
Sat Jan. 7, 2012 10:57 PM EST
Fri Jan. 6, 2012 4:30 PM EST
Fri Jan. 6, 2012 12:26 PM EST
Thu Jan. 5, 2012 3:00 PM EST
Tue Jan. 3, 2012 11:46 PM EST
Tue Jan. 3, 2012 9:44 PM EST
Tue Jan. 3, 2012 3:00 PM EST
Tue Jan. 3, 2012 5:01 AM EST
Mon Jan. 2, 2012 2:22 PM EST
Mon Jan. 2, 2012 7:00 AM EST
Sun Jan. 1, 2012 7:09 AM EST
Fri Dec. 30, 2011 7:00 AM EST
Fri Dec. 30, 2011 1:09 AM EST
Thu Dec. 29, 2011 7:00 AM EST
Tue Dec. 27, 2011 7:00 AM EST
Mon Dec. 26, 2011 7:01 AM EST
Fri Dec. 23, 2011 11:01 AM EST
Wed Dec. 21, 2011 4:00 AM EST
Tue Dec. 20, 2011 7:00 AM EST
Mon Dec. 19, 2011 7:00 AM EST
Fri Dec. 16, 2011 10:48 AM EST
Fri Dec. 16, 2011 12:13 AM EST
Thu Dec. 15, 2011 10:17 PM EST
Thu Dec. 15, 2011 10:15 AM EST