dana liebelson

Dana Liebelson

Reporter

Dana Liebelson is a reporter in Mother Jones' Washington bureau. Her work also appears in Marie Claire and The Week. In her free time, she plays electric violin and bass in a punk band.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Tea Party Darling Joe Walsh Says He Was Kicked Off His Own Radio Show for Using the N-Word

| Thu Jun. 19, 2014 11:14 PM EDT

On Thursday, former Republican congressman and Tea Party darling Joe Walsh complained on Twitter about being kicked off his radio show for using the n-word and other racial slurs on air.  He tweeted, "It appears I can say [The name of Washington's pro football team], which is supposedly offensive, but when I say other words, commercial." He then proceeded to go on a bizarre online rant, repeating more racial slurs. 

Walsh's radio show airs on "The Answer" in Chicago and New York, which is home to a number of conservative talk shows. According to Walsh's Twitter account, his manager allowed him to say the name of Washington's football team on-air, but didn't allow him to say other offensive racial epithets. Here's what Walsh had to say about it all:

Walsh, who once called Obama a "tyrant" for ceasing to deport certain young undocumented Americans, noted that the radio station had sent him home, and he would find out what happens next with his job tomorrow at 5 p.m. Mother Jones has reached out to Walsh and "The Answer" for comment.

Wed Jul. 10, 2013 1:24 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 18, 2013 3:45 PM EDT
Mon Jun. 17, 2013 2:05 PM EDT
Thu May. 23, 2013 6:49 PM EDT
Wed Feb. 27, 2013 12:55 PM EST
Mon Jan. 28, 2013 8:17 PM EST
Wed Dec. 12, 2012 6:33 PM EST
Wed Dec. 5, 2012 1:23 PM EST
Wed Nov. 28, 2012 8:56 AM EST
Tue Nov. 20, 2012 1:05 PM EST