Josh Harkinson

Josh Harkinson

Reporter

Born in Texas and based in San Francisco, Josh covers tech, labor, drug policy, and the environment.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Government to Furlough Food Inspectors but Not Military Recruiters

| Mon Sep. 30, 2013 9:03 PM EDT

Now that Uncle Sam is about to run out of money, federal agencies will need to use their last pennies simply to keep America from falling apart. Food inspectors and pesticide regulators will stay home under the furlough plan, but fear not: Military recruiters will show up to work no matter what. Sure, your kids might die from eating tainted spinach, but they will have died in order to show that America does not give in to terrorists. Or whatever it is you call those ideologues and hostage-takers that the military fights. The point is, just remember that the military will be there for you during the budget apocalypse if you need a job, or want to watch some inspiring videos about jumping out of helicopters and hunting people with spear guns.

UPDATE: Below, readers point out a variety of reasons why furloughing military personnel is not as easy as furloughing civilian workers, which may help explain why Army recruiters are still working while food inspectors are not.

Tue Feb. 6, 2007 9:01 PM EST
Thu Jan. 25, 2007 6:10 PM EST
Thu Jan. 25, 2007 2:55 PM EST
Fri Jan. 19, 2007 8:11 PM EST
Fri Jan. 19, 2007 5:12 PM EST
Tue Jan. 16, 2007 11:26 PM EST
Tue Jan. 9, 2007 9:49 PM EST
Fri Dec. 15, 2006 6:05 PM EST
Wed Dec. 13, 2006 8:22 PM EST
Tue Dec. 12, 2006 9:51 PM EST
Mon Nov. 27, 2006 4:10 PM EST
Fri Nov. 17, 2006 4:33 PM EST
Thu Nov. 9, 2006 9:20 PM EST
Thu Nov. 9, 2006 4:46 PM EST
Thu Nov. 9, 2006 2:29 PM EST
Wed Nov. 8, 2006 4:05 AM EST
Tue Nov. 7, 2006 11:25 PM EST
Tue Nov. 7, 2006 5:19 PM EST
Tue Nov. 7, 2006 2:29 PM EST
Mon Nov. 6, 2006 8:50 PM EST
Fri Oct. 20, 2006 10:28 PM EDT
Wed Sep. 20, 2006 3:56 PM EDT
Fri Sep. 1, 2006 3:33 PM EDT
Fri Aug. 25, 2006 1:58 PM EDT
Thu Aug. 24, 2006 2:38 PM EDT
Tue Aug. 22, 2006 6:03 PM EDT