Tim McDonnell

Tim McDonnell

Climate Desk Associate Producer

Tim McDonnell joined the Climate Desk after stints at Mother Jones and Sierra magazine, where he nurtured his interest in environmental journalism. Originally from Tucson, Tim loves tortillas and epic walks.

Get my RSS |

Advertise on MotherJones.com

Map: Oysters, Reefs, and Swamps Protect Billions' Worth of Real Estate—for Free

| Mon Jul. 15, 2013 10:00 AM EDT
Natural reefs like this one in Florida protect billions of dollars in real estate, the study shows.

Among the hundreds of recommendations listed in Mayor Michael Bloomberg's $20 billion plan to protect New York from climate change is a call to stock up on oysters. Not the kind you'd want to knock back with a nice pilsner on a Friday afternoon: The idea is to build large underwater oyster reefs around the harbor that could prevent coastal erosion and absorb storm surges. "Soft" infrastructure like this—reefs, wetlands, dunes, and other "natural" systems—is gaining in popularity over "hard" levees and sea walls as an effective way to insulate cities from sea level rise.

Turns out, some of the best of these defenses might already be in place: Yesterday the journal Nature published the first-ever nationwide maps that reveal just how much existing coastal habitats are going to save our butts from rising seas and wild storms. Remove reefs, coastal forests, marshes, kelp beds, and other coastal habitats, the study finds, and twice as much coastline and 1.4 million more people will be highly exposed to climate risks.

Stanford marine ecologist Katie Arkema and her colleagues pulled a vast trove of data—Census Bureau population stats; property values from real estate site Zillow; wave and wind exposure data from NOAA; published climate models; and maps of coastal ecosystems from the scientific literature—and mixed them together to visualize where these natural systems offer the most, or least, protection.

The map below shows where the greatest risk from sea level rise and storm surge will be in 2100, based on models from the 2013 National Climate Assessment. Red areas represent not just places where sea levels are projected to rise the most, but also factor in the presence of protective offshore habitats; the type of shoreline (beach, cliff, etc.); and the spot's exposure to wind, waves, and other weather. Coastal southern Florida, for example, which is generally expected to get inundated by sea level rise, actually appears yellow, because of its abundant ocean-absorbing wetlands. Except Miami, that is: That city, the little red dot at the bottom right corner of the state, is still screwed. But things could be worse. The inset bar graph shows how many more people would be in high-risk red areas if those natural barriers were removed; in Florida, roughly an additional 300,000 people would be exposed, in New York another 300,000. 

Courtesy Nature
Fri May. 9, 2014 7:07 PM EDT
Thu Mar. 27, 2014 6:00 AM EDT
Thu Mar. 20, 2014 1:39 PM EDT
Thu Mar. 13, 2014 2:26 PM EDT
Fri Feb. 7, 2014 7:00 AM EST
Fri Jan. 31, 2014 5:04 PM EST
Thu Jan. 16, 2014 11:40 AM EST
Tue Nov. 12, 2013 7:00 AM EST
Sun Nov. 10, 2013 2:00 PM EST
Tue Oct. 22, 2013 3:41 PM EDT
Tue Oct. 15, 2013 4:12 PM EDT
Mon Oct. 14, 2013 6:00 AM EDT
Fri Sep. 27, 2013 3:00 PM EDT
Fri Aug. 9, 2013 6:00 AM EDT
Tue Aug. 6, 2013 3:49 PM EDT
Mon Jul. 1, 2013 1:38 PM EDT
Tue Jun. 25, 2013 11:56 AM EDT
Fri Jun. 21, 2013 1:13 PM EDT