Julia Whitty

Julia Whitty

Environmental Correspondent

Julia is an award-winning author of fiction and nonfiction (Deep Blue Home, The Fragile Edge, A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga), and a former documentary filmmaker. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Full Bio | Get my RSS |

Julia is a writer and former documentary filmmaker and the author of The Fragile Edge: Diving & Other Adventures in the South Pacific, winner of a PEN USA Literary Award, the John Burroughs Medal, the Kiriyama Prize, the Northern California Books Awards, and finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and Deep Blue Home: An Intimate Ecology of Our Wild Ocean. Her short story collection A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga won an O. Henry and was a finalist for the PEN Hemingway Award. She also blogs at Deep Blue Home.

Tue Jan. 8, 2008 2:51 PM EST
Mon Jan. 7, 2008 10:43 PM EST
Mon Jan. 7, 2008 9:23 PM EST
Thu Jan. 3, 2008 7:40 PM EST
Thu Jan. 3, 2008 6:54 PM EST
Sat Dec. 22, 2007 3:20 PM EST
Sat Dec. 22, 2007 2:59 PM EST
Thu Dec. 20, 2007 9:55 PM EST
Wed Dec. 19, 2007 6:58 PM EST
Mon Dec. 17, 2007 8:26 PM EST
Fri Dec. 14, 2007 4:32 PM EST
Wed Dec. 12, 2007 6:04 PM EST
Wed Dec. 12, 2007 5:36 PM EST
Mon Dec. 10, 2007 8:16 PM EST
Mon Dec. 10, 2007 7:40 PM EST
Fri Dec. 7, 2007 9:40 PM EST
Tue Dec. 4, 2007 7:49 PM EST
Tue Dec. 4, 2007 7:40 PM EST
Tue Dec. 4, 2007 7:02 PM EST
Mon Dec. 3, 2007 8:55 PM EST
Thu Nov. 29, 2007 7:35 PM EST
Thu Nov. 29, 2007 7:02 PM EST
Tue Nov. 27, 2007 7:08 PM EST
Tue Nov. 27, 2007 6:38 PM EST
Tue Nov. 27, 2007 5:30 PM EST
Mon Nov. 26, 2007 9:33 PM EST
Fri Nov. 23, 2007 6:32 PM EST
Wed Nov. 21, 2007 8:59 PM EST
Tue Nov. 20, 2007 12:00 AM EST
Thu Nov. 15, 2007 7:44 PM EST
Thu Nov. 15, 2007 6:17 PM EST
Thu Nov. 15, 2007 6:11 PM EST
Wed Nov. 14, 2007 8:08 PM EST
Mon Nov. 12, 2007 6:40 PM EST
Mon Nov. 12, 2007 5:39 PM EST
Wed Nov. 7, 2007 5:10 PM EST
Tue Nov. 6, 2007 3:59 PM EST